Fettuccine alfredo, time to carbo-load

A while ago I wrote about doing Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred, and I believe I promised to post results photos … I of course forgot to take some once I finished because I was focused on more important things like watching reality shows about people addicted to eating couch cushions. (In the episode, the girl says she prefers the edges of the cushions because “they have more flavor.” Clearly she has not spent much time pondering where kids wipe their boogers when they’re watching TV.)

Anyway, once I finished the 30 Day Shred, I moved on to Jillian’s Ripped in 30 program. At first, I thought it wasn’t going to be all that tough – for a moderately active person, level one is pretty much a walk in the park. Level two, however, is like you’re taking a walk in the park and somebody jumps out of the bushes, holds a gun to your head, and gives you the option of doing another round of cardio in plank position or taking a bullet to the brain, and you are only upset because they are not shooting you fast enough.

I’m still on level two, and I’m really nervous to see what she has in store for levels three and four. I don’t know how it can get any more painful, unless it involves a surprise plane ticket to Nepal, where Jillian will be waiting in a rickshaw for me to pull her to the top of Mt. Everest. In plank position.

The good news is, even after just two levels of Ripped in 30 I’m seeing more results than I did after the entire 30 Day Shred (although I’m sure that doing the shred first set me up for better results). I can definitely see more definition in my abs, biceps and shoulders. My thighs don’t appear that much smaller to me, but I am now able to fit in a pencil skirt that was previously a little too tight to wear to work, so I know I must have lost a little in that area as well. I can also, for the first time in my life, do legitimate pushups. Like, a bunch. In a row.

Sometimes when I’m at home I’ll drop to the floor and bust them out JUST BECAUSE I CAN.

Why am I so white?

My goal with these DVDs isn’t necessarily to lose weight, as my BMI is right in the middle of the “normal” range for my height and build. In fact, I haven’t changed my eating habits much at all – I try to net around 1,400 calories per day, which means eating slightly above that on the days I work out (4-5 days per week). My philosophy is that drastic changes and fad diets generally aren’t sustainable, so I try and eat reasonably most of the time and track my calories as best I can. I’ve used MyFitness Pal in the past, but I recently discovered a fairly new site called SlimKicker that’s pretty cool – it turns calorie counting into a winnable level-up game. (If you’re a total nerd like me, you’ll probably become obsessed … it sort of reminds me of the feelings I had toward my Nano Pets back in third grade.) As you level up, you become eligible to participate in giveaway challenges, which is awesome – who doesn’t love free stuff? The website also has healthy recipes (including recipes for diets like Paleo and Weight Watchers) and calorie counts for tons and tons of foods. You might consider checking it out if you’re looking for a fun way to track calories and meet your fitness goals.

8 thoughts on “Fettuccine alfredo, time to carbo-load

  1. Frizz Hotline

    Ummm AWESOME!!! I especially like the action pic! I might just look at some of these sites, you know, BECAUSE I CAN! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

