Phoning it in

I spent Saturday afternoon at Apple Hill with my family to celebrate my dad’s birthday. It snowed while we were there, so naturally I took a ton of photos with my parents’ camera and then I forgot to download them before coming back home. I guess you’ll just have to believe me when I tell you it was majestic as shit.

While we were there I bought homemade pumpkin butter, fresh pressed apple cider, honey habañero barbecue sauce, and roasted garlic dressing. Thanks to a series of unfortunate incidents involving the back door of the car, only the dressing made it home. At least the puddle of barbecue sauce we left in the REI parking lot smelled fantastic.

We rounded out the day with dinner at BJ’s. I haven’t been there since I was in college, and I was amused to see they started putting calorie counts on the menu. Because if they hadn’t done that, I would totally believe that their famous deep-dish cookies the size of a large pizza are an important part of my balanced diet.

 

One thought on “Phoning it in

  1. SMcMullin

    Calories on menus make me feel judged. “Yes I KNOW five pancakes topped with ice cream is 1,500 calories. LOOK AWAY.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

