It’s not that I’m lazy, it’s that I don’t care

You may have noticed that my blog has sucked for the last four days or so, and there’s actually a reason for that – I’m lazy.

Oh what, you were expecting a GOOD reason? You’re one of those people who floss regularly and dust the top of the refrigerator, aren’t you? Quit judging me, put on some sweatpants, and cue up some Law and Order: SVU. You won’t look back.

The truth is, I have no idea why I’ve been extra lethargic lately. I rarely work overtime, I don’t have kids, and Dave and I have the social schedule of two bedridden senior citizens. Yet for some reason I could only muster the energy to exercise twice last week, I’ve already skipped this week’s Monday workout, and I’m on the eighth consecutive day of moving the “clean bathroom” alert on my phone to “tomorrow.” I kind of want to blame Daylight Saving Time*, since it’s basically dark here at 4:30 (we’re surrounded by mountains that block out the sun well before it actually sets). By the time 7 p.m. rolls around, I’m already in my pajamas and wondering how early I can go to bed without it being weird. Is 8 p.m. pushing it? Can I hold out until 8:30? Should I get a nightlight and ask for a bedtime story since I’m basically living the life of a toddler?

On the other hand, it might have something to do with the fact that I’d rather lounge on the couch and look for holiday-themed crafts on Pinterest than do anything productive.

Does Daylight Saving Time make you feel like a zombie? How do you fight it?

* STOP! GRAMMAR TIME! Many people mistakenly say Daylight Savings Time, which is incorrect – since we are describing the act of saving daylight, the phrase is singular, not plural: Daylight Saving Time. My friends hate it when I point this out every spring and fall, but apparently the state of California was annoyed enough to point it out on their website, so DEAL WITH IT YOU GUYS.

4 thoughts on “It’s not that I’m lazy, it’s that I don’t care

  1. fitnessaficionada

    Daylight saving* time TOTALLY makes me feel like a zombie. Like, you, I like to hunker down for the night once it gets dark. I deal by being extra productive while the sun is still up, and then excusing myself to relaxation for the rest of the evening. I’m lucky enough to be done with class at 1pm, so this routine works for me. Hope you figure something out that perks you up!

    Reply
  2. lorlhart

    There is definitely something about the time change and the earlier darkness that makes me feel lathargic every fall. And I don’t need help with that. I would never judge you for relaxing in your off time. I learned how to put on my sweatpants and watch L&O: SVU a long time ago. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

