A really boring story about running clothes

I stupidly decided to take up running during the coldest month of the year in a town where the low temperatures can be in the single digits. My personal philosophy is that a whole lot of good decisions are being made every day by like brain surgeons and people who don’t eat fried foods, so I have to balance out the natural order of things by making bad ones. IT’S SCIENCE.

Anyway, my apartment and the gym are both really warm, but the air between my apartment and the gym is frigid. When I run in pants I tend to overheat, but when I wear shorts, I can practically see my leg hair growing on the car ride to the gym (hot, I know). Obviously, my first thought was “Where do male strippers buy those sweet breakaway pants,” but it turns out most of those are firefighter and police-themed, and also they come with suspenders and a matching pleather man thong. So I decided to compromise and try and find some capris that do not make my legs look like little white tree stumps. And by “went out” I mean “drove to the one store in town with workout clothes that is not Walmart,” which happens to be JC Penney. Not to sound uppity, but JC Penney is not so much known for having a wide selection of cute clothes as it is for outfitting people who think pleated slacks and ill-fitting collared shirts are the shit.

One pair of running tights and two  tops later, I realized I should apologize to JC Penney, because it turns out they actually have a decent selection of totally cute activewear. Not only that, I saw several dresses and shirts that I would have tried on if I weren’t spending all my money on gym clothes. Here’s what I wound up with:

Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 7.28.02 AM

Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 7.32.44 AM

Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 7.34.49 AM

The best thing about these tops? Thumb holes.

01.09.13 Thumb holes

Basically I only want to wear shirts with thumb holes for the rest of my life. Or at least until June.

3 thoughts on “A really boring story about running clothes

Leave a Reply

