StyleUp Daily

When I have time, I like to plan my outfits in the evening. If I don’t plan ahead, I wind up taking about 30 minutes to get dressed in the morning, cursing every item I own and flinging clothes on the floor because putting something back on a hanger requires, oh, an extra 1.5 seconds and ain’t nobody got time for that.

I had a friend in college who wrote down what she wore every single day, rated it on both style and comfort levels, and noted the temperature. I considered adopting this strategy because how awesome would it be to have a list like that, but on the other hand, laziness. Which is why I was so excited to read about StyleUp Daily from the Fug Girls on Friday. StyleUp Daily checks the weather in your area and sends you an email each evening with an outfit suggestion that will work with the next day’s forecast. You can fine-tune your style preferences by rating each outfit and letting the site know how you tend to dress Monday-Friday (I chose “fun professional,” I believe). Oh, and it’s totally free.

Here’s the look I received in my inbox Sunday night:

Screen Shot 2013-01-14 at 7.26.51 AM

It was 9 degrees when I woke up this morning and the forecasted high is in the upper 20s, so either this model has bionic hands or StyleUp Daily has never heard of gloves. Overall though, I really liked the look. I don’t have a ton of tan in my closet, but my new favorite sequined cami is tan-ish, so I layered a cream-colored, semi-sheer sweater over the top for kind of a subtle sequined look. Not exactly groundbreaking, but I’m wearing sequins and it took me about two minutes to get dressed, so I’m happy.

01.14.13 Sequins and sweater

You should definitely give this site a try if you frequently find yourself choosing between planning the next day’s outfit or watching one more episode of whatever show you’re currently obsessed with before bed.

8 thoughts on “StyleUp Daily

  1. Winnie

    I layout my clothes the night before also. I am up at 4:20 am, and am not really up to “thinking” about much. I am not one for fashion so I don’t have much of a struggle. When I forget to do it, I am scrounging around in the dark trying not to wake the hubby.

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      If they could combine StyleUp’s functionality with Swackett’s site design I’d be in heaven. I think it’s still in the beta stage though, so maybe it will get a facelift in the future.

      Reply
  2. Lori

    I check the weather myself, AND lay my clothes out the night before. I also make a list the night before that REMINDS me to get dressed. WAY better than showing up somewhere cold and naked.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

