We are sooo going to party

I hosted a little get together at my apartment on Saturday, something I rarely do on account of a) having to wear real clothes on a weekend and b) a crippling anxiety that people will be bored/not like my food/notice the thin gray outline around all the objects on my coffee table because I didn’t move them when I dusted.

If you’re like me and tend to freak out about having people over, the best thing you can do for yourself AND your guests is serve booze. I like to make a big batch of a mixed drink in some sort of carafe so I don’t feel like I have to make cocktails all evening or worry about getting the right proportions of alcohol/mixers. And if you make it ahead of time, you can self-medicate for your social anxiety before everyone comes over. Don’t be like me though and find yourself not wearing pants when the first guests ring the doorbell. (I swear that story isn’t as weird as it sounds. And also I put my pants back on before opening the door.)

My mom makes really good sangria, so I had her send me the recipe. I have no idea where she got it, but it’s easy to make (and even easier to drink three glasses of without realizing it). Plus, it’s pretty:

01.20.13 Sangria

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups brandy
3 bottles of red wine (cheap stuff is fine)
1 1/2 cups triple sec
3/4 cup lemon juice
1 cup frozen limeade
1 cup orange juice
1/2 cup of sugar/sweetener of choice (I used Splenda)
6 cups diet ginger ale
1 lemon, sliced
1 orange, sliced
1 lime, sliced

Method:
Combine everything except ginger ale the night before (not totally necessary, but it’ll be fruitier if you do it this way). Add chilled ginger ale right before serving. Drink 1-2 glasses before guests arrive. Check to make sure you’re wearing pants before opening the door.
How many servings this yields kind of depends on how much your friends drink, but it was more than enough for the 15 people I had over.
Do you usually serve cocktails when you have guests over? What are your go-to drinks?
2 thoughts on “We are sooo going to party

  1. Noel

    Sangria is such a pretty drink! Especially when you have a nice pitcher to pour from!
    Thanks for sharing this one! I’ll be making it soon.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: I will give you 100 dollars to whistle right now | heatherhomefaker

Leave a Reply

