My goal is to run to the moon

Last week I came to the startling realization that not only have I stuck with my half marathon training program for four weeks now, I might actually LIKE running.

This is kind of a big deal for me, since my relationship with running historically has followed the basic Jersey Shore plotline: Do something stupid (decide to go for a run), spend an hour looking at myself in the mirror (to get the sporty ponytail just right), stagger home hours later smelling of sweat and shame.

I’m not sure what has changed since those days … although I suppose that starting to eat fairly healthily has something to do with it. My ass is no longer visible from space (probably … I’m still waiting for NASA to confirm), so I guess that’s good. It also turns out that doing Jillian Michaels DVDs for three months straight really built up my leg muscles, which makes all the death threats I sent her totally worth it. I also wonder if it’s true that running is largely mental. I always hear runners say that and even though I typically nod and pretend to be impressed by their wisdom, I secretly file that person in my brain under “asshat, pretentious” because if that were true my half marathon training would consist of, “think I can run 13 miles, eat a cheeseburger.”

Only now I’m realizing there may be truth to it – when I start to get tired, I force myself to think about something else and it really does help take my focus off the pain. My frequent mental distractions include: What I’m going to wear to work the next day, what kind of cheese I have in my fridge, Patrick Dempsey, what I have in my kitchen that I can put cheese on when I get home, Patrick Dempsey spreading brie on a cracker.

Now that I know I want to stick with running, I of course want to buy All! The! Running! Things! Here’s a list of things I have convinced myself I need:

02.04.13 Running gear

1. Moving Comfort Sprint Tech Skort

2. Reebok Zigkick running shoes

3. Big Bling Sparkle White Bic Band

4. WristSTASH Sweatband Wrist Wallet

5. Lululemon Pace Setter Skirt

Do you run? What running gear can you not live without?

6 thoughts on “My goal is to run to the moon

  1. Emily West (@sparklemeetspop)

    Do I run? Heck to the no. haha. But I’m so glad that you’re sticking with it and enjoying it! I found though that running competitively and just for fun/fitness are totally different. I just don’t like running by myself. I need other people to distract me. 🙂 I really like the website dailymile.com where you can track your distance and training without wearing a pedometer (you just chart it later using Google maps).

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      I think the key for me has been taking short walk breaks. I’ve been reading about the Jeff Galloway method – he says most runners record faster times when they take short, strategic walk breaks because it keeps your legs fresh. I find my runs much more enjoyable when I can think to myself, “Just five more minutes and I get a break” as opposed to “CAN’T STOP EVER OR I FAIL.”

      Anyway, you can read about the Galloway training method here, if you’re interested 🙂
      http://www.jeffgalloway.com/training/walk_breaks.html

      Reply

Leave a Reply

