Simple Braided Headband

I have like 50 pounds of thick, wavy hair on my head. And I don’t mean hot, Gisele wavy. More like Hermione Granger wavy. It mostly behaves when I blow it out and straighten it, so that’s how I wear it almost every day.

Sometimes I get tired of the long and straight look, but don’t want to take the 45 minutes (seriously) to curl it. When that happens, I usually do this simple braided headband. (Please know that I’m aware of and embarrassed by the quality of my photos. I plan to use my tax return to invest in a DSLR instead of put it in my savings account like a responsible adult.)

Simple braided headband

What you’ll need:

Clear elastic

A few bobby pins

Hairspray

Step 1: Section out a portion of hair from behind your ear and braid it all the way to the end, securing with the elastic.

Step one

Step 2: Pull the braid up and over your head like a headband. Note: It is crucial that you look like you’re falling asleep when you complete this step.

Step 2

Step 3. Secure the end of the braid with bobby pins. Make sure you pick up the top layer of hair and pin the braid underneath it so you’ll have hair to cover the pins.

Step 3

Step 4: Mist with hairspray. I use Elnett and it is glorious.

Finished

Sometimes I’ll add a bobby pin to the base of the braid if I feel like it’s sticking out. You can go really crazy and do a braid on each side for a double-braided headband, too.

That tax return can’t come soon enough.

5 thoughts on “Simple Braided Headband

Leave a Reply

