Does this mean I have to stop hating Twitter?

In addition to being sick all of last week, I was also dealing with some super stressful career decisions.

I’ve always struggled with being confident in my work. Which is weird, because I’ve never been fired or anything. Come to think of it, I’ve never even really had a negative performance review, except for the time I worked at a museum cafe and my manager scolded me for not RUNNING to clean up after a toddler who was barfing his lunch all over the floor. Like, I’m sorry that my first instinct when seeing half-masticated chicken-adjacent meat nuggets shoot out of a kid’s mouth isn’t to run into the line of fire. I’LL HAVE TO WORK ON THAT.

My degree is in print journalism and up until the job I’m at now, I have only worked in the news industry – first as a reporter, then as a page designer/copy editor, and finally as a managing editor. Making the switch to marketing eight months ago was somewhat terrifying. While I like a challenge, I’ve been in a constant state of panic about whether I’m as good at it as I was at journalism, or if my limited experience is holding my company back.

So when I received a pretty great offer from my former paper a few weeks ago, I had to decide whether I wanted to go back to what I was comfortable with or continue in my current position, not really knowing if I’m even good at what I’m doing. After making myself sick over the decision for several days, I decided to just go in and talk to my boss about everything.

In retrospect, saying, “Hey, I’m thinking about leaving because I’m not sure if I’m good at my job!” probably isn’t a great thing to say to your boss. I blame it on the fever.

But my boss was understanding. He listened. And instead of firing me, he told me he’d like to tailor my job description to match my strengths and interests.

And then my head exploded, because what kind of boss does that? The universe must finally be thanking me for braking for squirrels and recycling and not hiring a hit man to remove Nancy Grace’s vocal cords.

All that to say: I am now my company’s first-ever Social Media Manager, and I seriously could not be more excited. Or confident. How about that.

6 thoughts on “Does this mean I have to stop hating Twitter?

  1. Kristin

    I, too, hate twitter (even though I have an account, which I never check-maybe I’ll start). Also….if you have no idea how you are doing at your job, that’s not your fault…it’s completely your boss’ fault.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

