Finally back on track

I’ve spent the last week and a half suffering through a cold from hell, and yesterday I was finally able to get back to my half marathon training. I still have a cough, but since my chest doesn’t hurt anymore and I can make it through my workday without seriously considering taking a nap on the floor under my desk, I figure it’s safe to get back to running.

I did an easy-paced 5k last night and felt pretty good, considering I haven’t exercised at all in 11 days. The real test will be the 7-miler I have planned for Saturday. I’m nervous.

When I logged in to DailyMile to record last night’s run, I found a little set of stats outlining what I’ve done since February when I first started using the site. So far I have:

* Run 48.5 miles

* Saved the equivalent of $2.55 in gas

* Burned 28 doughnuts (this means I can eat 27 doughnuts and still come out on top, right??)

It says I have burned 1 lb., but I stepped on the scale last week and found I have lost nearly 6 lbs. since I started running in January. Weight loss was not a huge goal for me when I started running – I could lose a few pounds and still be within the “healthy” BMI range for my height/build, but I’m definitely not going to be super strict about calories just to lose a little vanity weight. But it does bring to light one of my favorite things about running – I can eat so much more throughout the day! I’ve had a few people ask about what I eat, so here’s what a typical day looks like if I’m running:

Breakfast: Oatmeal with cinnamon or a fried egg on top of whole-grain bread, coffee

Lunch: Giant salad with spinach/chicken/nuts/dried fruit/low-fat dressing or a turkey/cheddar/spinach sandwich or wrap with pretzels on the side. When I have avocado on hand, I’ll throw it on my salad or sandwich. Those days are the best. I have a bag of miniature York peppermint patties in my desk, and I usually have one for dessert.

Pre-run snack: Banana or half a Larabar

Dinner: My breakfast/lunch routine tends to be fairly low-cal, so I tend to eat whatever I feel like for dinner, within reason. Sometimes that will be super healthy chicken and quinoa, and sometimes (like last night!) it will be three slices of cheesy, pan-crust pizza. Everyone says breakfast should be the biggest meal of the day, but I’m hungriest in the evenings, so it works for me to eat my biggest meal at night. Two or three nights a week I’ll have some sort of dessert – usually part of a dark chocolate bar or a serving of ice cream.

I do track my calories on running days to make sure I’m eating enough, and on days when I have a few hundred to spare, I’ll have a beer or two. I try to eat a little less on my off days, but that doesn’t always work out. I read quite a few healthy living blogs, so eating habits have really been on my mind lately. Some of those healthy living bloggers have really incredible bodies, but they are very strict about what they eat … I think I’d rather settle for a pretty good body and keep eating pizza.

And because this post needs some color, here are some of my favorite healthy recipes I’ve found on Pinterest (click to see the pin):

Hummus, tomato, and avocado on an English muffin

Avocado chicken salad

 

Barbecue chicken quinoa salad

 

Vegan carrot cake overnight oats
9 thoughts on “Finally back on track

  1. Ani Danelz

    I think the hardest part of half-marathon training is learning how to properly refuel. My body is not used to having to take in so many extra calories to replace the ones I’ve burned during running. Love the recipe ideas!

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      Yeah, I’ve found that it’s hard to do it healthily, anyway. I could easily make up the calories with a giant cheeseburger and fries, but it’s much harder to replace 600-800 calories with healthy foods.

      Reply
  2. Lori

    You are doing great! One thing,,,be sure when you are running anything over 6 miles to eat some kind of energy block or energy bar bites. It will really help when those runs get LONGER.

    Reply
  3. Audrey

    That’s awesome! I’m starting to train for a 5K, which I’ve totally never, ever done… Maybe someday I will work up to an even longer race!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

