Savory sweet potato fries

I used to think that I hated sweet potatoes. Until the sweet potato fry craze hit recently, the only time I’d tasted them was on Thanksgiving, when they tend to be covered in mini marshmallows or brown sugar. Which, nasty. Who decided that root vegetables are an acceptable vehicle for candy? And why stop there? Why not put syrup on cauliflower, or stuff broccoli into s’mores? Oh right, BECAUSE IT’S GROSS.

I do not like sweet shit on my vegetables, is what I am saying. Because of this, it took me a while to come up with a sweet potato fry recipe that I enjoy, mostly because a lot of the ones I found online contain sugar or cinnamon. After making them several times, I finally discovered the holy grail of sweet potato fry seasonings: Cumin and garlic salt. Maybe a little smoked paprika, if you’re feeling adventurous.

sp fries

Perfectly salty sweet potato fries

(Makes two servings)

One large sweet potato or two small ones
1-2 T Olive oil
Cumin
Garlic salt
(Optional seasonings: Smoked paprika, cayenne pepper)

Preheat the oven to 400. Cut potatoes into wedges and place on baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle generously with cumin and garlic salt (potatoes soak up a lot of seasoning, so don’t be timid here). Toss with your hands until wedges are evenly coated with oil/spices.

Bake for 20 minutes, then give them a stir. Bake 10 more minutes and stir again. If they’re starting to look crispy around the edges at this point, move on to the next step. If not, bake for another 10 minutes.

Broil on high for 3-5 minutes to achieve perfect crispiness (keep an eye on them the whole time you’re broiling – they’ll go from perfection to burned in a matter of seconds).

Be sure to taste one to check your seasonings before serving – sometimes I’ll add a little sea salt if I don’t feel like I got them quite salty enough. These are delicious dipped in ketchup, barbecue sauce, or ranch dressing.

03.19.13 Sweet Potato Fries

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Savory sweet potato fries

      1. TheGreatZambini

        Well, if they were proper sweet potatoes (not the practically green ones they seem to sell in stores) they are plenty sweet. It`s only out of season or early ones that need a touch of sugar to make up for its deficiencies.

Leave a Reply

