Weekend in Photos

I had “write Monday’s blog post” on my weekend to-do list, but then I spent the weekend ignoring my to-do list and having fun instead. Which I highly recommend, unless “laundry” is on your to-do list and you work with people who might be offended if you show up to work in sweatpants and a T-shirt you and your friends made for a camping trip in college bearing your super-classy nickname, “Flasky McGee.”

Totally hypothetical situation, of course.

Anyway. My weekend o’fun started off Friday evening at the gym, where I ran four miles on the treadmill wearing a new running skirt I picked up at Kohl’s a while back. Pro tip: Want to feel like a huge narcissist? Get caught taking a picture of yourself in the full-length mirror at the gym.

Running skirt

I did really like the skirt, though. One thing I’ve noticed with running skirts is that because they’re paired with flat, clunky running shoes, they have a tendency to make your legs look really short. If you’re in the market, I’d recommend going for a shorter one (they have shorts attached so you don’t have to worry about flashing anybody. Unless you’re into that, in which case, I simultaneously judge you and admire your self-confidence.)

Saturday morning we got up early and went to our first yard sales of the season. I’m definitely not one of those people who buys random crap at yard sales just because it’s cheap. I think for me, the appeal is to try and find out why people are getting rid of certain items. This is especially fun when you are yard sale-ing in a rural area. I’ll start off with something like, “Was this Whitesnake poster throwing off the feng shui created by your tin foil curtains?” Usually this is met with a response along the lines of, “We just sellin’ anything we can so Jimbo can make bail.”

I didn’t find anything good (standard), but Dave got a brand new pair of Adidas cleats for $5.

Later that day Dave had to work, and I drove down to Redding to visit with my uncle Rick who was visiting from Missouri. Not only is he hilarious, he is like the best musician ever – basically every time Rick is around you can expect to hear live music. This time it was in ukelele form. Here we are playing Ingrid Michaelson’s “You and I”:

Ukes

To be honest, Rick was playing “You and I” and I was playing something only slightly adjacent to actual music. I blame it on the fact that my fingers wanted to play the chords how I would on a guitar. I did rock the hell out of the claps at the end, though. (P.S. – Go visit Rick’s YouTube Channel and see how awesome he is. He really likes seeing new states show up in his analytics.)

Bonus picture taken out the car window from the freeway:

mt shasta

I might be crazy, but I’m considering making “Hike Mt. Shasta” next on my list of fitness goals after my half marathon in June. Part of me thinks it would be amazing, and the other part of me remembers writing stories about climbers dying on the mountain every year when I worked at the newspaper and would rather stay home and drink beer.

11 thoughts on “Weekend in Photos

  1. Closet Strategy

    Maybe you can do one of those fancy treadmill programs and “hike Mt. Shasta” from the comfort of your gym…

    Reply
  2. Rick Maxson

    Indeed, Heather can clap but she was rockin’ that uke too. Never underestimate what a short running skirt, a beer and a ukulele can accomplish in Redding, CA.

    Reply
  3. SMcMullin

    My little sister Emma lives there. You could head to her Starbucks in Glenview and pretend to just bump into her after we set up an elaborate scheme so you are dresssed identically to her etc.

    Reply
  4. SMcMullin

    No idea why my Chicago comment ended up on this post? I am on Internet Explorer and IT SUCKS. The blog does funny things, as do most websites. How is this crap so prolific?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

