Pinterest Challenge: Animal Magnetism

Today I’m participating in the Pinterest Challenge, which is being co-hosted by my fabulous and stylish friend Emily at Sparkle Meets Pop.

I was traveling for work all last week and am now up to my ears in follow-up from my trip, so I didn’t have the time or energy to tackle anything too intense this time around. I settled on these simple DIY animal magnets from A Rose on the Moon:

animal-500

First, I found some plastic jungle animals at Wal Mart and picked several of my favorites to dismember:

05.08.13 Plastic Animals

Animal Lovin

(I swear, those two were stuck like that when I emptied the bag.)

The animals used in the tutorial I followed were hollow and mine were not, so I wasn’t able to cut them with scissors or a craft knife like she did. Thankfully, Dave was only too happy to step in and offer his services:

05.08.13 Saw

Hippo

Whiskers offered his services, too:

Whiskers Helping

The next step was painting the animals. I had just bought some acrylic paint in springy colors for a different project, so instead of buying gold paint in order to go with the color scheme from the original pin, I decided my animals would be springy.

Painting

The darker animals needed two coats, but the lighter ones were good with just one.

After the animals dried, I super glued magnetic buttons to their backs and they were ready to take their place on the fridge:

05.08.13 Elephant

It may not be the most impressive of DIY projects to showcase, but I like the touch of whimsy these little guys add to the kitchen.

Magnet row

Two Animals

Now I just need to figure out what to do with these:

Butts

You can follow me on Pinterest here.

10 thoughts on “Pinterest Challenge: Animal Magnetism

  1. Closet Strategy

    I am obsessed with Pinterest for outfit ideas and recipes… now DIYs too? Curse you! Now I’m determined to make a batch of these for myself…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

