high five for friday: the yellow edition

I was really bad about taking photos this week, so today’s High Five for Friday is more like High Five for Yellow. I’ve always loved yellow, but I’ve been particularly drawn to it this spring – maybe because I spent the last four months shivering through sub-freezing temperatures and my body subconsciously craves the color of the burning hot sun. Anyway, here are five yellow things that have been calling to me this week:

Yellow Inspiration

Yellow Backsplash. I love the contrast of a bright backsplash and white cabinetry. I’m not sure I’m meticulous enough to showcase my dishes with see-through cabinet doors, however.

Lemon Meringue Pie S’mores. Traditional s’mores can be almost too sweet, so I’m excited to try this tart version with lemon curd and roasted homemade vanilla marshmallows. (DISCLAIMER: I’ll probably sub a Kraft Jet-Puffed marshmallow for that homemade business. Ain’t nobody got time for that.)

Anthropologie Akaya Bowl. I love these little Anthro bowls – they’re the perfect size for ice cream, and a tad classier than my usual eat-out-of-the-carton-with-a-spoon routine.

jcpenney Contrast Print Dress. JCP is totally kicking ass lately. And no they don’t pay me to post links to their clothes all the time; they’re just the only clothing store in my little country town and I’m grateful that I finally have at least ONE store in which I can physically shop away my stress after a busy workweek. It’s just not the same to angrily click “order” on my laptop screen.

Homemade Dole Whip. If you’re not familiar with the Dole Whip, you need to get acquainted. It’s basically a super creamy pineapple soft serve, and it’s the only fruit-based ice cream product I would actually choose over a chocolate flavor. It’s one of the universe’s cruelest jokes (second only to Justin Bieber) that these are only available at Disneyland and the Dole plantation in Hawaii, so I was excited to find a copycat recipe that might come close to the magic of the real thing.

What’s your take on yellow? Love it? Hate it? Wish I would shut up about it already?
 photo H54Fbutton-triangle_zps678b65ba.jpg

5 thoughts on “high five for friday: the yellow edition

Leave a Reply

