A perfect Mother’s Day

After a Saturday spent lounging in yoga pants watching Downton Abbey (in my defense, I did wake up early for a 5-mile run), I drove down to my parents’ house on Sunday for a Mother’s Day brunch. It was crazy hot for this early in May, but with the help of champagne and shade from the giant oak trees on their property, we managed to stay cool until early afternoon, when we decided to head to the mall for some air-conditioned shopping.

Scones

I’ve written before about my family’s love of traditions, and of course we have them for Mother’s Day as well – every year we enjoy my uncle Greg’s homemade scones, fresh fruit, and mimosas on the deck at my parents’ house.

Family

Three generations: My grandma, me, my mom, and my brother.

Pink flower

Light pink flower

My dad played around with my new camera and captured some beautiful shots of the blooming flowers on the deck.

Mom Uke

A family of musicians means we can’t have a get together without bringing out instruments. After brunch, my mom serenaded us with her new ukelele that she picked up during a trip to Hawaii last week.

The only downside to weekends like this is that they make it so much harder to go back to work on Mondays. I want a mimosa.

Leave a Reply

