Healthy Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate Banana Bread Muffins

Healthy Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate Banana Bread Muffins

My half marathon is less than a month away, so I’ve been trying to be good about eating right and sticking to my training plan. I was doing great until I re-discovered Dawson’s Creek on Netflix on Saturday, which led to a little marathon of its own. It also sparked an internal moral debate about whether it’s OK for me to be in love with teenage Joshua Jackson because I am currently in love with adult Joshua Jackson on Fringe. I am one bad blowout and a dowdy collared shirt away from being Tamara Jacobs.

Tamara Jacobs

Anyway, about three hours into my Dawson’s marathon I decided I needed something sweet, so I headed to the kitchen to see what I could find. Instead of breaking out the ice cream, I put a couple of old bananas to use and made these healthified banana bread muffins. It turns out they are great running fuel – I ate one before an 8-mile run on Sunday, and I had great energy and no weird stomach issues (something that tends to happen to me whenever I eat before running). I even cruised up two giant hills that normally force me to slow to a power-walk.

And they are almost as delicious as (adult) Joshua Jackson.

Healthy banana bread muffins

Healthy Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate Banana Bread Muffins

Adapted from this recipe at Tasty Kitchen

Ingredients:

  • 2 large or 3 small bananas, mashed
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons oil
  • 1  egg, beaten
  • ¼ cup plain applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon PB2 **
  • ¼ cup oats
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 4 oz dark chocolate chips or half of a dark chocolate bar, chopped roughly

Preheat the oven to 350.

Mash the banana in a large bowl with a fork. Add the sugar, oil, egg, applesauce, and vanilla, and mix with the fork.

Combine the dry ingredients in a medium bowl, and add to the wet ingredients in several batches. Fold in the chocolate.

Spray 10 paper liners with cooking spray and then dust the liners with flour, tapping the excess out of each cup into your hand or over the sink (I know this seems like a pain, but low fat baked goods are notorious for sticking and this works like a charm).

Bake for 10 minutes and then test with a toothpick. Mine took about 14 minutes for a toothpick to come out clean, but ovens vary greatly so it’s best to start with 10 minutes and go from there. Allow the muffins to cool completely, and then store in an airtight container. Eat while watching teen soap operas from the 90s.

Banana bread muffin and chocolate almond milk

I may have eaten a second one when I got back from my run, along with a glass of cold dark chocolate almond milk (read about why chocolate milk is a great choice to refuel muscles here).

** PB2 is an all-natural, low-fat and low-calorie alternative to regular peanut butter. Roasted peanuts are pressed to remove the oil, resulting in peanut butter in powdered form. You can mix the powder with water to make it have the same consistency as peanut butter, or you can use it dry like in this recipe. You can find it in many grocery stores next to the regular peanut butter (Wal Mart even carries it now!) or you can buy it on Amazon.

4 thoughts on “Healthy Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate Banana Bread Muffins

  1. Closet Strategy

    Hmmm… this PB2 business is intriguing. I might have to give that a whirl. Does provide any flavor enhancement for smoothies?

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      I’ve heard it’s good in smoothies. I also tried mixing it with Greek yogurt recently, and that was really good. If you search “PB2 recipes” on Pinterest, there are a ton of great ideas!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

