Review: My First Stitch Fix

Have you heard of Stitch Fix?

It’s an online styling service that sends clothes hand-picked by a stylist right to your door. Which is great news for me, since I live in a small town where the local shopping options are questionable at best. Also because I’m so lazy that even ONLINE shopping tires me out sometimes.

Here’s how it works:

First, you sign up on their website (it’s free to create an account). Then you answer a bunch of questions to complete your style profile. At that point, you can start scheduling fixes.

Each “fix” costs $20 (you can schedule them as often as you’d like), and includes five pieces – you can choose whether you want just clothing, or if you would like them to include accessories as well. If you choose to keep anything from your fix, the $20 styling fee goes toward your purchase. If you choose to keep everything in your fix, you receive 25% off your entire order. You have three days to try stuff on, and anything you decide not to keep you just drop in the mail inside the pre-paid shipping bag included in your order. Doesn’t get much easier than that.

I received my first fix on Tuesday. I was warned by friends who have joined that the first fix is usually somewhat disappointing because your stylist hasn’t gotten to know your preferences yet, aside from the initial questionnaire. I’m glad I was warned, because there’s not much I’m going to keep from this fix, which included three dresses, a top, and a necklace.

Let’s start with the good. Namely, this necklace:

Necklace

I love the color, and I think this is something that will go well with many of the tops and dresses I currently own. I kind of loved it just with the plain white T-shirt I was wearing when I tried it on! I’ll definitely keep this.

The next piece looked really cute in the box, but not so cute on me:

Blue Dress

It was a little big, and I wasn’t really digging the undefined waist. I tried belting it, and it looked awful (I have a super short waist, so things tend to get weird when I bust out a belt as you will find out below). I love the color and pattern, though.

I also feel like I should note that I was heading out for a run after taking these, so please don’t judge my gym hair.

Carrying on.

tunic

There’s some of that belt weirdness I mentioned. I like the Peter Pan collar on this tunic/dress, but that’s about it. It was really tight through the hips/thighs. Not a good style for me.

Geo Print Dress

First of all, I don’t know why I am making that “Oh Stitch Fix, You Saucy Minx” face up there. It was late, I was tired, my belt wouldn’t stay put, I was over taking pictures, etc. Anyway. This dress was HUGE, and the big poofy skirt did nothing for my lower half. Not to mention, the pattern looks like it belongs one of those hidden 3-D image books that everyone loved in the 90s. Maybe if you stare at it long enough, you’ll see the Statue of Liberty.

Orange Shirt

I blame myself for this top – there is a portion of the style questionnaire that asks what colors to avoid. I thought I had clicked orange, but I hadn’t. I’m also not a huge fan of super loud prints, which I’ll be noting in my follow-up feedback.

So there you have it – even though I’m not keeping any of the clothes this time around, I scored a great necklace without having to get off my couch.

Necklace

(See, sometimes I do my hair.)

The great thing about this service is that, once you try everything on, you go back to the website and give your stylist feedback on each piece – how it fit, what you liked, what you hated, etc.  I plan to be much more detailed about what I’m looking for when scheduling my fixes from now on, and I feel pretty confident that I’ll be keeping more items from my future fixes.

If you’re interested in trying this out for yourself (and want to get me a small credit as well!) I’d love it if you used this link to sign up. This isn’t a paid review or anything; I just think this is such a fun idea and a great way to try new styles for people who are either too busy to shop or, like me, don’t live near any great stores.

3 thoughts on “Review: My First Stitch Fix

Leave a Reply

