What I Wore to Work: Striped Floral Mirror Print Skirt

I was shopping on Sunday when this crazy ass skirt on the clearance rack at JCPenny caught my eye:

Striped skirt

I couldn’t wait to try it on because a) I love it and b) Dave hates crazy patterns and my response to his hatred is to WEAR ALL THE PATTERNS. One time I bought a polka dot dress and every time I wear it I get an earful about how distracting the dots are and how much better the dress would look without them. And I’m like, “Shove it Tim Gunn, I don’t tell you what weapon to use when you’re killing enemies on Call of Duty.” And he’s all, “Stacy and Clinton would totally back me up on this” and then I kick myself for making him watch all those “What Not to Wear” reruns with me.

Anyway, I wound up buying the skirt and couldn’t wait for Dave to see me in my loud, stripey, floral patterned glory when I emerged from the closet. His response?

“That skirt is cool.”

Striped Skirt

Way to take the wind out of my sails. Also, no shit it’s cool, patterns are awesome.

Most of this outfit was purchased a while ago, except for the skirt, which you can buy here. It’s on sale for $17.99 online, but I think I paid $12 in the store. However, I should warn you that it’s the tiniest bit see-through, so a slip is definitely necessary.

How do you feel about crazy patterns?


13 thoughts on “What I Wore to Work: Striped Floral Mirror Print Skirt

  1. Closet Strategy

    I love pattern mixing, and I especially love that this skirt does all the work for you. You don’t have to stare at your closet and think “gee, will this striped shirt work with those polka dot pants?” Score!

    Reply
  2. H&K Style Journey

    I love this skirt! The crazier the better. My husband surprises me sometimes with his comments about my clothes. Things I thought he would hate or wouldn’t notice he notices! Heather

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      That’s so funny! One of my guy friends from college once told me he always noticed when girls had chipped nail polish, and I was so surprised that any man would notice/care about that sort of thing.

      Reply
  3. Agi

    Love that the skirt has floral mixed with black and white. FAbulous.

    Visiting from Tara’s Link Up. Stop by and link up with my weekly Tres-Chic Fashion Thursday Link Up and enter my sephora giveaway.

    Agi:)

    vodkainfusedlemonade.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

