High Five for Friday

Iced Coffee

It’s been so warm that I had to break out the iced coffee this morning. Sipping iced coffee through a straw = summer.

Wavy Hair

My favorite hairstylist is an hour and a half away, and this week I finally got a chance to head down and have her fix my haircut. My hair is super thick and naturally wavy, and the last girl I went to turned it into a shapeless mess that made me cringe when I looked in the mirror.  I basically just asked for anything that would make me stop resembling Carrot Top when I wear my hair in waves. She thinned it out considerably and added some layers, and I like it so much better now!

My coworkers brought Krispy Kremes to the office on Monday. Of course they’re best when fresh and warm, but they were still delicious enough that I had to move the box off my desk and onto the conference table where the breeze couldn’t carry the smell toward me anymore.

Knee

My left knee has been bothering me on my long runs, so I went to the doctor on Wednesday to get it checked out. Apparently I have IT band syndrome. (Totally diagnosed myself before the appointment, by the way. Thanks, Google.) I asked my doctor what causes it, and he let me dork out and read all about it in his medical textbooks, which was fun. I was so afraid he was going to tell me I have to back out of the half marathon next week, but luckily if I ice it and do some super dumb looking stretches I should be just fine. I may have to reduce my mileage after the race, but I’ve been wanting to incorporate more yoga and weight training into my fitness routine, and less running means more time for those activities. Look at me, having a good attitude.

Finally … OUR HOUSE OFFER WAS ACCEPTED! I’ve signed so many papers in the last two days that my hand has turned into a misshapen claw. I can’t believe that in a couple of months (provided everything goes smoothly), we are going to be homeowners. I felt so grown up until Dave asked if we could make the third bedroom into his PlayStation room.

 photo H54Fbutton-1_zpsa7aaa665.png

5 thoughts on “High Five for Friday

  1. Closet Strategy

    Your hair looks great! Good thing you will have 60 days to rest your claw before it’s time to start all over again with the paper-signing.

    Reply
  2. SMcMullin

    Yayyyyy on the house!! My dream home would contain a 30 hot dog cooker.

    I dealt a lot with ITBS when an started running (and for like a year.) The stretches helped as did focusing on not running like Sloth from Goonies, but the biggest help has been working squats and presses into my routine to strengthen my legs.

    Reply
  3. Sofia

    Great post and blog!

    If you get a sec, check out my latest post ‘Holy Chic’. I would love to read what you think of my latest buy. I am so into graphic t shirts. This one is so cute.

    Kisses,
    Sofia

    stylishlyinlove.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

