Interior Inspiration: Galley Kitchens

I’m totally a kitchen person. If you invite me over to your house it is the first room I will want to see. And if there’s cheese in your fridge, I probably won’t ever leave. So, you know. If you ever invite me over, hide your cheese if you don’t want to deal with a redheaded squatter.

To be honest, I was slightly disappointed when we first saw the kitchen in the house we are buying. While it’s nice, it is fairly small and galley-style, which is definitely not my favorite. However, I am determined to make the small kitchen into a beautiful, relaxing area despite its limitations. Thankfully, there is a big window above the sink, and the kitchen opens up into a large dining area, which makes things feel a bit less claustrophobic.

I’ve been looking at all kinds of galley kitchen photos, and there are a ton of tricks you can use to make a small kitchen seem larger – white cabinets, open shelving, and a light wall color go a long way toward improving a small room. (The kitchen currently features a red accent wall, which Dave really wants to keep … so I predict many future fights about that.)

Here are some of my favorite photos I found in my search:

Sometimes I feel like the only person in the world who doesn’t have a hard-on for granite countertops. I much prefer butcher block (Ikea actually has some pretty affordable options), and paired with light walls, they can definitely help lighten up a small space.

Additionally, open shelving and glass-front cabinets help break up what would otherwise be a solid wall of cupboards. Although if I go for this look, I’m going to have to develop some serious cupboard organization skills. And maybe buy some prettier dishes. (OK, I’m really just looking for an excuse to buy these.)

Kitchen 3

I also really like the look of pendant lights going right down the middle of the room.

07.02.13 Kitchen 5

Does your house have a galley kitchen? I’d love to hear any other ideas on how to work with this style of room!

New to the series? Check out my previous Interior Inspiration posts:
Interior Inspiration: Gray Walls
Interior Inspiration: Small Bathrooms
You can follow my Pinterest “Home” board here.

4 thoughts on “Interior Inspiration: Galley Kitchens

  1. Lori

    I love the look of the kitchens….and I priced a set of 4 for the dishes…..277.95. They are beautiful, but….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

