High Five for Friday

I’m so glad it’s Friday! I’m counting down the hours until I get to leave work and start my mega relaxing weekend – tonight I’m going to a Taiko concert in a local park, and on Saturday we’re heading to our favorite Indian restaurant where I’ll gorge myself on korma, butter chicken, and biryani. And … that’s the extent of our plans. Drumming and food. Lazy weekends are the best.

I hope you have a relaxing couple of days on the horizon as well! Here’s my High Five for Friday this week:

Dave was playing soccer at the park Wednesday night, so I headed out for an evening run around the nearby reservoir and then sat on the grass and watched him play while the sun set. Pretty much a perfect summer evening. (Until I turned into a monster when 9 p.m. rolled around and we still hadn’t eaten dinner.)

exercise

I would never wear neon in “real life,” but for some reason I prefer that my workout clothes are bright enough to be seen from space. I picked up this hot pink bra over the weekend and I love it. (I thought I was being all sly taking this phone selfie when I finished my run, and right after I hit the shutter button I realized that a group of friends were shouting my name and waving at me from the nearby trail. Fail.)

This week’s grub club haul: mixed summer squash, Walla Walla onions, peaches, blackberries, rocambole garlic, and tomatoes. I LOVE my town’s grub club – membership is only $1 per season, and every week local farmers/ranchers email every member to let them know what they’ll have available at the weekly meetup. You just email them back with your order and they reserve it –  no elbowing people out of the way in the booth to get the last basket of blackberries. In addition to the usual fruits/veggies, local bakers have gotten involved by bringing fresh-baked bread, and you can even buy locally-raised chicken and beef. I love living in a place where fresh, local food is readily available. (I say as I take a bite out of my preservative-laden Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich.)

Anthro card

My sister gave me an Anthropologie gift card for my birthday, and it’s burning a hole in my wallet while I decide what I want to spend it on. I can’t decide between this dress or this skirt. Or maybe just buying a bunch of kitchen stuff like a set of these mugs (I already have one in yellow) and these ceramic berry baskets. Or maybe these measuring cups. STOP HAVING STUFF I WANT, ANTHROPOLOGIE.

And finally, this “30 Signs You’re Almost 30” post made me laugh so hard. I literally said OH MY GOD, YES after every single one. I was tempted to French kiss the cashier at BevMo when I got carded buying booze for my 29th birthday party last weekend, and I definitely had a glass of wine to celebrate locking a low interest late on my mortgage last week. But only one. At home. Because the damn bars are all too loud. I AM SO OLD.

 photo H54Fbutton-1_zpsa7aaa665.png

Leave a Reply

