Blackberry Peach Crisp with Mocha Almond Ice Cream

I’m not a huge fruit pie fan. In fact, fruit pie might be the only dessert food I’m able to turn down without feeling sad.

NOTE: These feelings do not apply to Dave’s sister Lissa’s strawberry rhubarb pie, which I could and WOULD eat every day for the rest of my life if she were willing to bake me one every week until I die. Most likely from diabetes.

When my flat of peaches from the grub club all ripened at once this week, I panicked. I knew the only way to use them all up was either to make some sort of fruity dessert or to turn them into jam, and hell if I am going to embark on a culinary journey that involves submerging glass jars in boiling water and plucking them out with tongs. No offense jam, but if I’m going to risk burning all the skin from my arms it’s not going to be for a condiment that will be enjoyed once or twice and then disappear behind a sea of beer bottles and empty takeout containers never to be seen again. Kind of like Lindsay Lohan, only fruit.

I’m sorry, Lindsay. Please don’t rob me.

I decided to go with a fruit crisp, on account of crumb topping being so delicious that I could eat it by the truckload.

Blackberry Peach Crisp

I used this recipe from Joy the Baker, and swapped out raspberries for blackberries since that’s what I had on hand. If, like me, you are not a huge fruity dessert fan, here are some reasons you should make this recipe anyway:

– There is a whole stick of butter in the crumbly topping.
– You do not need any more reasons.

My topping wasn’t getting very crisp even after cooking it 10 minutes longer than the recipe indicated, so I switched the oven to broil for about 2 minutes and that crisped it right up. I  topped each warm serving with a big scoop of mocha almond ice cream because a) dessert is not legitimate unless there’s chocolate involved, and b) Dave introduced me to the fruit/mocha ice cream combination years ago, and it is so good. Trust.

This was so good that I ate a serving for breakfast the next day. Which is totally acceptable because the topping has oats in it, so BASICALLY it was just like having fruit and oatmeal for breakfast.

With a side of ice cream.

This is why I run.

So tell me – what’s your favorite dessert? Are you a chocolate person like me, or do you veer toward the fruity stuff?

3 thoughts on “Blackberry Peach Crisp with Mocha Almond Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

