Portabella Burgers Stuffed With Garlic Butter, Cheese, and Onions

I know I tend to get a little hyperbolic when I write about food, proclaiming that pretty much whatever ingredient I’m cooking with is my FAVORITE THING EVER.

I just really like eating.

However, I am totally not exaggerating when I say garlic is one of my favorite things to cook with. And what is almost as awesome as garlic? Butter. And what do you do when you have an abundance of both in your kitchen, plus a couple of portabella mushrooms you need to use up?

tumblr_lksbwuKIM91qgvo7ho1_500

These burgers are adapted from this recipe for garlic butter mushroom sliders that I pinned a while back. Even though there’s only a few teaspoons of butter per mushroom, garlic butter literally drips down your chin when you bite into one of these.

Garlic Butter Stuffed Portabellas

I added some balsamic caramelized onions to the top of each burger when they were done cooking, which I’d highly suggest if you are an onion fan. If you are not an onion fan, I’d highly suggest you become one.

Here’s how you make ’em.

Portabella Burgers stuffed with Garlic Butter, Cheese, and Onions

Ingredients:
2 portabella mushrooms
4 tsp. salted butter or margarine
2 large cloves of garlic, minced
2 slices cheese (I used cheddar, but Gruyere would have been better)
Parsley
1/2 of one large sweet onion, sliced
1T olive oil
Splash of balsamic vinegar
2 buns

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Heat olive oil in a small pan over low heat and add the onions. Cook for about 20 minutes, stirring. Add a splash of balsamic and continue cooking for another 10 minutes or so.

While the onions are cooking, remove the mushroom stems and use a damp paper towel to gently wipe the caps clean.

Spread about 2 tsp butter on the under-side of each mushroom (I used the back of a spoon to spread it around), and top with cheese, garlic, and parsley. They will look like this:

07.23.13 Mushrooms Pre-Cook

Place on a baking sheet, and bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Remove from the oven carefully – you don’t want all that delicious garlic butter to spill out all over the pan! (If it does, mop it up with the top of your buns.)

Place the buns under the broiler for a few minutes if desired. Place the mushrooms on the buns and top with caramelized onions. I served mine with sweet potato fries.

Portabella Burger Stuffed With Garlic Butter, Cheese, and Onions

(Pro tip: Don’t walk away from the kitchen to answer your phone when there’s only a few seconds left on the timer for your sweet potato fries.)

These would actually be really good without buns if you’re into that whole low-carb thing. I happen to think bread is the BEST THING EVER, but that’s just me.

2 thoughts on “Portabella Burgers Stuffed With Garlic Butter, Cheese, and Onions

    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      I actually calculated the nutritional info on these, and they’re only around 350 calories per burger (depending on the bread/butter you use; I used Smart Balance margarine which cut some calories/fat.)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

