Fall Boots, Blanket Weather, Etc.

My sporadic posting this week is partially because a work project is currently sucking all the creativity out of my brain, but it’s also because I feel like I don’t have much to write about now that my kitchen floor isn’t rotting out from beneath my feet and the toilet flushes without gushing water all over the floor.

Not that I miss the drama. In fact, I’m relieved that the biggest hurdle I’ve overcome this week was snatching the last ivory 5’x7′ area rug from the shelf at Walmart while the other lady admiring it turned around to yell at her kids. I know Walmart is evil and exploits other countries and stuff, but this EXACT SAME RUG was selling for $300 at Bed, Bath and Beyond, and Walmart was shilling it for a fraction of the price.

Apparently my dignity has a price tag of $69.99.

(If you’re a better person than I am and can’t bring yourself to shop at Walmart, Kohl’s has some really pretty options at decent prices, and I LOVE this one from Target.)

Here is what the rug looks like from my current location on the couch because I’m too lazy to get up:

White Rug

Not pictured, but definitely happening in the background: The cat jumping off the windowsill, slipping on the floor and crashing into a book case. He’s still getting used to life without carpet.

And in other couch-related news:

Blanket

It is officially blanket weather in the evenings up in my neck of the woods. DSW has started sending me daily emails about their fall boot sales, which make me just about as excited as Ron Swanson at a strip club breakfast buffet.

ron-swanson-gif

Right now I’ve got my eye on these and these, although I kind of can’t justify buying new flat boots since the Steve Maddens I bought last season are still going strong. Admittedly, booties with 5-inch heels won’t seem like a good idea once it starts snowing in a few months, but a) I’ve never been practical when it comes to footwear and I don’t need a b) because THEY’RE SO PRETTY.

One thought on “Fall Boots, Blanket Weather, Etc.

Leave a Reply

