My Face Hurts

I woke up at 4:45 this morning to the sound of the cat emptying his stomach contents on the floor next to the bed, and again in the hallway. A few minutes later when I was bent over cleaning up the cat hurk, I noticed that the entire left side of my upper jaw was achey, and that if I open my mouth it sends jabbing pains up the side of my face. My first thought, of course, was that it’s probably terminal jaw cancer, but Dave assured me it’s probably just a sinus infection since I’ve been whining about my nose being stuffed up for weeks.

I’m juggling too many projects at work to be able to take a sick day, but I did just email this warning to my coworkers:

heads-sick-get-well-ecard-someecards

And because the pressure in my face is overpowering my brain at the moment, here are some pictures from the highlights of my weekend. (Spoiler: It’s mostly food. Because of course it is.)

20130924-071513.jpg

It was overcast and rainy all weekend, which is basically my most favorite weather in the world. I went for a six-mile run in the drizzle Saturday morning and then spent the rest of the weekend wrapped in blankets on the couch and enjoying the diet of a 15-year-old boy.

20130924-071420.jpg

Case in point: On Saturday night I discovered the California Burrito (carne asada, nacho cheese, french fries, and guacamole). I think I’m officially down to one functioning artery.

20130924-071440.jpg

And because potatoes fried in oil and covered in fake cheese wasn’t enough, we came home and made sundaes. I forgot how much I love Reddi-Whip. I keep sending Dave on “errands” in the back of the house so I can spray it directly into my mouth from the can without him seeing.

20130924-071455.jpg

I bought a pretty new scarf.

20130924-071532.jpg

Avocado eggs benedict. We poached just the whites in an effort to keep our hearts from shutting down completely after our weekend of gluttony.

20130924-080620.jpg

Dave’s mom and sister let me dig through their clothes donation piles on Sunday, and I scored this super cozy black sequined circle scarf that I’m currently putting on and taking off every 30 seconds due to my fever. It’s going to be a long day.

4 thoughts on “My Face Hurts

  1. SMcMullin

    Boooooo for sick.

    I had a can of Reddi-whip for the homemade iced mochas I make like every single day, but 98% of it went straight from can to mouth. At the end of the can there was an unexpectedly high ratio of NO2 to cream, and I ended up with a huffing high for like 15 minutes. Luckily Ryan was out with the kids that afternoon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

