My New Favorite Breakfast

It’s no secret that I love cheese, and right now I’m pretty obsessed with The Laughing Cow. I put it on everything with a spreadable surface – crackers, tortillas, apple slices, sandwiches. Sometimes if I don’t have a spreadable surface available I check to see if anybody is looking and shove the whole wedge right in my mouth. I usually hide the package in weird places in the fridge so I don’t have to share my precious cheese with Dave.

gollum

Me, after Dave leaves for work.

I ran out of Laughing Cow on Saturday, so I made a quick trip to the grocery store a few streets over to replenish my supply. (God forbid I be forced to eat carbs without first slathering them with cheese.) This particular grocery store is small and overpriced and usually overrun with kids in the parking lot begging adults to buy them beer, but I went anyway because CHEESE. I LIKE IT. And also because I was too lazy to drive 2 miles to the respectable grocery store on the other side of town. So I pull up and there is this huge sign proclaiming that today is MEAT BONANZA! and first of all it’s very important that you know that I am not editorializing with the capital letters/exclamation point; they were on the sign. Turns out, MEAT BONANZA! is a highly celebrated event, and there were people running to the deli section to marvel at the cornucopia of about-to-expire cuts grandly laid out next to a display of flavored pork rinds and 99-cent toilet paper.

I’m telling you all this because I’m pretty sure MEAT BONANZA! is to blame for the fact that the shelves were not getting re-stocked, which is why they were out of my usual Light Swiss wedges. And yes, I buy the “light” option even though it’s only 15 fewer calories than the original.

Judge Judy

Dave’s face whenever I ask him to pick me up the “light” version of anything.

They did, however, have two flavored options: Blue Cheese and Sundried Tomato & Basil. Leaving cheeseless was not an option, so I grabbed the tomato basil flavor and was pleasantly surprised. Yesterday when I went to make an egg sandwich for breakfast I discovered we were out of butter (we are grocery shopping failures) so I slathered on some tomato basil Laughing Cow instead and it blew my mind.

Laughing Cow Breakfast Sandiwch

I’ve done this with the Swiss flavor, but this version is way better better. Just toast half an English muffin, let it cool for a few minutes, then spread on a wedge of Sundried Tomato & Basil Laughing Cow and top it with a fried egg or two.

I feel like I should note that I am in no way affiliated with The Laughing Cow … I just really like cheese. And you should try this sandwich. The end.

5 thoughts on “My New Favorite Breakfast

  1. eat.shop.read.watch.repeat

    Tomato basil is my fave LC cheese! Spread it on a plain english muffin, and it almost-kind-of reminds me of cheese pizza.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: NaBloPoMo Day 12: What’s in my Fridge | heatherhomefaker

Leave a Reply

