“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”

10.23.13 Fall 1

I always feel a little homesick when I’m traveling for work, but I didn’t realize how bad it was this time until we started our descent into Southern Oregon on Sunday — the sun was just about to set behind the Cascade mountains, and the entire Rogue Valley was glowing red, orange, and gold. Living up here has its issues (my county is currently trying to secede from the state and form its own Redneck Republic, for instance), but then I spend time in a city where I sit in traffic for hours and can’t drink the tap water and the air quality gives me headaches and teenagers’ handbags are worth more than my car and I’LL TAKE THE HILLBILLIES, THANKS.

10.23.13 Fall 2

I took these pictures on a walk around my neighborhood late Monday afternoon, and here is yet another way small towns differ from the city: When my neighbor caught me crouching under the trees in her front lawn with my camera, she offered me a brownie instead of calling the cops.

10.23.13 Fall 3

10.23.13 Fall 4

I’m trying really hard to enjoy the colors, because we have about a month before the leaves will drop and I’ll have to check the snow forecast before driving places and Dave will bitch incessantly about the fact that the Snuggie has turned his girlfriend into an amorphous blue blob. Oh, seasons.

P.S. – Bonus points if you know where the cheesy post title is from.

4 thoughts on ““I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”

  1. 8littlepaws

    OMG. That article you linked to. OMG.

    “the State of Jefferson is not just bumpkin ballyhoo.”

    “the rebels have raised awareness that urban priorities such as transgender bathrooms and carpool lanes don’t fit the needs of ranchers and wood workers in the state’s far north.”

    I’m actually LOLing at this.

    Seriously though, loving the leaves, we’ve had a really blah fall in Chicago, I’m looking out my window to pale yellow and green leaves everywhere still.

    And post title: Anne of Green Gables!

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      My boyfriend is a reporter and I went with him to a “State of Jefferson Rally” recently. It was really hard not to laugh when somebody in the crowd suggested that paper currency be replaced with gold. Also, yay Anne of Green Gables fans!

      Reply
  2. SMcMullin

    I love that the State of Jefferson has revived its crazy self.

    I googled to find out the title was from Anne of Green Gables, but it reminded me of that TERRIBLE movie Sweet November. Seriously, but the end I was yelling, “PLEASE DIE SO I CAN STOP WATCHING!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

