Halloween Cake Bites

This is the first Halloween I’ve lived in a neighborhood where kids trick-or-treat, and I’m SO EXCITED to spend the night ignoring the doorbell while watching scary movies and binging on fun-size candy bars.

Just kidding, mostly. I have dipped into the candy, as evidenced by this recent conversation with my friend Sarah:

Halloween Candy

Eating candy saves lives. QED.

The neighbor kids will have to forage through the small selection of mini candy bars that managed to escape my clutches, but I wanted to have something extra cool for Dave’s cousins’ kids who will be coming by. Enter:

Halloween Cake Bites

These were intended to be Halloween cake pops, until I spent 20 minutes looking for lollipop sticks in Walmart and had to choose between modifying the recipe and suffering a psychotic break right there in the crafting aisle. So these are cake BITES. Not cake pops.

Halloween Cake Bites

Ingredients:
– One boxed cake mix in any flavor (plus whatever you need to make it according to the  directions – usually oil and a couple of eggs)

– One tub of store-bought frosting

– Almond bark or candy melts (for the coating)

– Sprinkles

Prepare the boxed cake mix according to directions (I almost always use no-sugar-added applesauce instead of oil)

Let the cake cool, then crumble it into a large bowl.

Using your hands, mash the frosting in with the cake crumbles until it’s completely mixed together. Form the “dough” into quarter-sized balls, and place on a cookie sheet covered in wax or parchment paper.

Place the balls in the freezer for about 30 minutes (this is so they don’t fall apart when you dip them in coating). You could also place them in the fridge for a few hours/overnight if you want to dip/decorate them later.

About five minutes before the balls are done chilling, heat your bark or candy melts according to the package directions (I’m lazy and did mine in the microwave).

Lay the balls on the tines of a fork and dip into the candy coating until completely covered. Let it drip for a few seconds, and then transfer back to the cookie sheet. Cover with the desired amount of sprinkles while the coating is still wet (I did them row by row as I dipped them).

Halloween Cake Bites

I also plan to make spiked caramel apple cider (I will not be handing this out to kids. Not because it’s wrong, but because I don’t want to run out.) If the recipe is any good, I’ll post it here tomorrow.

What are your Halloween plans? Are you dressing up?

6 thoughts on “Halloween Cake Bites

  1. Lori

    Those cake bites look delicious. I have always wanted to try cake pops….maybe you should make some for Kristin’s shower! Since I haven’t had a trick or treater in 20 years, I am going to go out to dinner, and then watch The Great Pumpkin.

    Reply
  2. SMcMullin

    Yay, I’m FAMOUS! And Halloween candy can eat me. Then it will die of clogged arteries because I have ingested so much Halloween candy. AND SPACE AND TIME WILL COLLAPSE ON THEMSELVES.

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      Yep! I don’t notice a difference in the taste at all, but the texture can sometimes be a tiny bit denser/chewier than when you use oil. I notice it more in cakes/breads than cookies.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

