Chocolate Caramel Stuffed Snickerdoodles

Caramel Stuffed SnickerdoodlesYesterday I drove down to my parents’ house for a baking day with my mom, aunt, and grandma. After looking at every cookie recipe ever posted on the Internet, I decided to make these caramel stuffed snickerdoodles from The Comfort of Cooking. Only I used my grandma Meme’s snickerdoodle recipe instead, because it’s the best ever. It’s actually the same as our family’s sugar cookie recipe, only when we make snickerdoodles we don’t sift the powdered sugar. They’re light and fluffy and soft, which makes me happy since I despise hard, crunchy cookies. Also, they’re easy. But you knew that already, since I wouldn’t have made them if they weren’t.
11.07.13 Caramel Stuffed Snickerdoodle

Meme’s Snickerdoodles
Ingredients:
1.5 cups powdered sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) butter
1 egg
1.5 tsp. vanilla
2.5 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cream of tartar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tbsp. cinnamon

For the stuffing:
1 bag Rolos

Cream butter and sugar, then mix in the eggs and vanilla. You’ll have to whisk pretty vigorously, and it should look like this once the eggs and vanilla are mixed in:

11.07.13 DoughBlend in the dry ingredients and pat the dough into a big ball. Cover and refrigerate for an hour or so. Before you take the dough out of the fridge, mix the granulated sugar and cinnamon together in a small bowl.

I made my cookies about golfball-sized. I flattened the dough into a disk, pushed the Rolo into the center of the disk, and then wrapped the dough around the candy and rolled it into a ball:

11.07.13 Stuffing CookieRoll the ball in cinnamon and sugar, and place on a Silpat-lined baking sheet.

Bake at 375 for 5-7 minutes. Take them out when the tops are just beginning to crack and they look slightly under-done. Let them continue baking on the sheet for another 5 minutes or so before transferring to a cooling rack.

I’d recommend eating as many as you can while they’re warm out of the oven, but if you get to the point where you have to unbutton your jeans like I did, you can always save them for later and just pop them in the microwave for about 30 seconds to get the caramel and chocolate nice and gooey again.

On a less warm-and-fuzzy note, between last week’s Halloween candy and yesterday’s baking extravaganza, I almost had to lie down to get my pants to zip this morning. For the next few weeks my goal is to spend less time in the kitchen and more time in the gym. If you know me in real life and see me pick up a cookie this week, do me a favor and slap it out of my hand.

NaBloPoMo November 2013

One thought on “Chocolate Caramel Stuffed Snickerdoodles

Leave a Reply

