NaBloPoMo Day 12: What’s in my Fridge

Today’s NaBloPoMo prompt is: “Name five things inside your refrigerator right now and how you feel about them.” I had to wait until tonight to write this post, on account of there weren’t five things TO write about in my refrigerator until about an hour ago. What can I say, when it comes to down to grocery shopping vs. watching Norman Reedus kill zombies for 12 hours straight on a Sunday afternoon, Norman always wins.

Source

Source
Daryl approves.

Last night I had soup and a cookie for dinner, so I decided to skip the gym after work tonight and hit the grocery store for some actual food. Here are five things I bought that are now in my refrigerator:

Peppermint Mocha Creamer. I normally measure two tablespoons of creamer into my morning coffee (hi, I’m neurotic), but this stuff is so good that I allow myself to glug it into the mug until my coffee is so pale it’s about to crawl out of my cup and do the white man’s overbite.

Source Harry Burns FOREVER.

Source
Harry Burns FOREVER.

Tomato Basil Laughing Cow. We go through quite a bit of this now that I’ve gotten Dave hooked on this sandwich. I also use it to make turkey wraps for lunch – just spread some on a tortilla and top with turkey, spinach, avocado, and anything else that strikes your fancy.

Unsweetened Almond Milk. It makes me feel healthier when I eat my Count Chocula.

Spinach. We put it on/in everything – sandwiches, wraps, eggs, burgers, smoothies. I tell myself that its superfood powers are magically undoing any damage caused by my love of beer/fried foods. That’s science, right?

A six pack of Long Hammer IPA. This has actually been in our fridge since Friday night, which is an absurdly long shelf-life for beer in these parts. I may need to re-think my weeknight drinking ban.

NaBloPoMo November 2013

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo Day 12: What’s in my Fridge

  1. 8littlepaws

    Oh wow the Harry gif…..you made my night.

    I just went shopping too while skipping the gym tonight too. At Trader Joe’s, the amount of junk food disguised as “healthy junk food” is astounding. I got pecan pie ice cream, all natural cheetos, chocolate covered almonds with sea salt, and a whole assortment of other snacks. But TJ’s sells wet food for cats that’s really cheap and good for their kidney function so I basically have to go there every week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

