NaBloPoMo Day 21: Describe an Outfit That Makes You Feel Good

Now that it’s cold outside, most days you will find me in some variation of dark wash jeans, boots, and a drapey cardigan. So when I first saw this prompt I was going to put together an outfit to show you involving tall boots, my trusty AE skinny jeans, and this fantastic sweater that I just got from Target.  But even though I love my standard fall outfit, it’s still not my favorite thing to wear. If I’m being honest, this is the type of outfit that makes me feel my best:

Running Clothes

My cat’s main purpose in life is to photobomb me.

Here is why I love my running clothes:

– I don’t have to match

– My ASICS GEL-Kayanos make me feel like I’m walking (and running!) on clouds

– Compression tights = instant 10-lb. weight loss

I recently took a little break from my running clothes, mostly for mental reasons (and partly because it’s pitch black when I leave work at 5 p.m. and DARK = TIME FOR BED). I’ve mentioned before that I read a lot of healthy living/running blogs, and sometimes I find myself a little too obsessed with the number on the scale or how my weekly mileage log measures up to my favorite bloggers. When that happens, I know it’s time to take a step back and have a little come-to-Jesus moment. To let myself know that it’s OK to take a break if I’m feeling burnt out. And that the producers of “My 600 Pound Life” probably won’t come calling because I didn’t run for 10 days and also ate a cinnamon roll. Or two. Or three BUT IN MY DEFENSE THEY HAD CREAM CHEESE ICING. So instead of pounding away on the treadmill, I spent my evenings for the last week and a half reading young adult fantasy novels and watching crime shows on Netflix. And not feeling even a little bit guilty about it.

Yesterday I woke up feeling like I wanted to go for a run, so after work I threw on my favorite running tights and geared up for what I figured would be a terrible three miles. Weirdly, I felt awesome and strong and basically what I’m saying is that when I’m not busy comparing myself to everyone else, that’s how my running clothes make me feel: Awesome. Strong. Invincible, even. Way better than wearing dumb old skinny jeans and counting calories.

NaBloPoMo November 2013

6 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo Day 21: Describe an Outfit That Makes You Feel Good

      1. 8littlepaws

        I’ve recently read the first book of the Divergent series and I have also read the first two books of the Maze Runner series. I really like them both a lot so far. Apparently the rest of Chicago does too, because it’s one long list at the library for them!

    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      I WAS accosted by a creeper on my way to my car last night. He wove me an elaborate yarn about how he’s hypoglycemic and needs money for Taco Bell and when I told him I didn’t have any cash he called me a bitch.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

