Thanksgiving Traditions

Back when I worked for a newspaper, I never got to take any time off for the holidays. Technically I’d get the actual holiday off, but I’d still have to come in late in the evening and put together the paper for the next day. And answer calls on Black Friday from people who got to stay home from work, and therefore had nothing better to do than call and gripe about the paper being late. Oh, you had to read the paper 20 minutes later than usual on your paid day off? Please accept this formal invitation to suck it.

I’m still getting used to having time off around Thanksgiving and Christmas. My family has a lot of holiday traditions, and this year I’m looking forward to being around for them. Especially the “drink booze while cooking” tradition.

Thanksgiving Drinking

Thanksgiving 2010. Meme would want me to note that her glass is filled with Jesus-approved cranberry juice and not the nectar of the heathens.

We always barbecue our turkey to free up oven space, but also because it makes the skin extra delicious and crispy. I have a personal tradition of hanging around during the carving process and stealing all the extra crispy pieces of skin out of the pan before they make it to the platter:

Barbecued Turkey

This year, I’m thankful for volatile hydrocarbons and saturated fat.

Every year, my parents put up the Christmas decorations the day after Thanksgiving. And I should note that we’re not talking about a couple of strings of garland and a few wreaths. No, this is a two-day process that involves rummaging in the garage to locate the 20 plastic bins stuffed with Christmas decor, accusations of missing boxes, and the weeping and gnashing of teeth when broken knick-knacks are discovered, all set to a background of chipper holiday music. Hallelujah! Christ is born! Why are there goddamn stocking holders in the box marked “Precious Moments nativity set?”

Christmas Decor

Oh and sometimes we take a break and photograph my dad almost falling off the house to put up lights.

Perhaps my favorite Thanksgiving tradition is when we all gather around after dinner for our annual viewing of “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles.”

Source

Source
If this gif means nothing to you, please stream this movie on Netflix tomorrow.

This year my goal is to make it through the whole thing without falling asleep.

Anyway, I hope you have a happy Thanksgiving however you choose to celebrate (or just a happy random Thursday if you’re not in the U.S.). Also, please tell me some of your family’s traditions in the comments so I don’t feel as weird when I put out the Popsicle stick napkin holder my 27-year-old brother made when he was in first grade because IT’S A TRADITION.

NaBloPoMo November 2013

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Traditions

  1. Sarah Burgen

    I have a cinnamon stick centerpiece I made in preschool that we still use. Spoiler alert: it no longer smells like cinnamon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

