High Five for Friday

1. This coat:

Tan coat

I am so in love with this coat that my grandma bought me for Christmas. It’s a super thick wool, and all that extra fabric around the neck and shoulders adds a ton of warmth. Not enough to make me stop complaining about how damn cold it is, but I’m pretty sure that won’t stop until around June.

2. Skotidakis Jalapeno Greek Yogurt Dip:

Jalapeno Greek Yogurt DipI had this for the first time at my parents’ house last summer, and it is life-changingly good. They get it at Costco, only the Costco closest to my town doesn’t carry it despite the fact that I repeatedly intend to mention it at the customer service desk and then chicken out because I don’t want to sound high maintenance. Assholes. ANYWAY, my mom donated a tub to me when I was visiting for Christmas. I’m not sure if it’s because she loves me or because she got sick of me whining about how Costco won’t read my mind and start stocking it where I live, but I don’t even care. Pro tip: Use it on a wrap with turkey and avocado.

3. The Olympic Trials are happening, and just as the hopeful athletes are preparing for the event of a lifetime, I like to imagine Bob Costas is spending his days crafting prose that strikes the perfect balance of inspiring, painfully obvious, and subtly ethnocentric. Don’t let me down, Bob.

4. I’ve had my eye on this animal print dress from LOFT for a while, and on Wednesday I realized that it’s currently on sale for 60% off:

Animal Print DressI will be its proud owner in 8-10 business days. Related: As I was checking out, I thought to myself, hey, a black blazer would look really good with this, and so would some black booties, and also a blingy belt and 10 minutes later I had ALL THE THINGS in my cart, but I deleted them all except for the dress. I do this every single time I buy something online, but rarely feel that impulse if I’m shopping in a store. Does anyone else have this problem?

5. Last night I officially started the Jillian Michaels Challenge:

I took “before” photos in my sports bra and shorts last night, and at first I was like, “I guess these aren’t that bad,” and then I loaded them on my computer and was all:

Also, my love handles are more like love tractor tires at the moment. I may wind up posting them at the end of the challenge if my results are good enough (and if I get a Ross Gellar-style spray tan the day before).

Happy Friday!

 photo H54Fbutton-1_zpsa7aaa665.png

4 thoughts on “High Five for Friday

  1. SMcMullin

    Your hallway looks so fricking nice in that first picture! And I 100% do that in online shopping carts. I end up setting an arbitrary mental number, so when I look at the shopping cart and see $80, even if it’s for $2000 worth of stuff, I’ll still end up emptying the cart until it hits $50 (or some other random number that makes my head not feel panicky.)

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      I always get panicky when I buy something online. Even if it’s not expensive. Maybe it’s because there’s the added pressure of WHAT IF IT GETS HERE AND I HATE IT?

      Reply
      1. SMcMullin

        I just had this same panic at Gap.com. They were having 40% off, so I put about $200 worth of stuff in my shopping cart then downgraded until I hit about $60. Normally I would freak out, but I live in Houston and Gap returns from online are bum easy.

Leave a Reply

