I’m on Facebook! Tell Your Grandparents!

Thank you so much to everyone who posted encouraging things over on my Instagram yesterday … I’ve avoided posting about weight loss issues in the past, mostly because it’s hard not to post about that stuff without it sounding like a ploy for attention from Internet strangers. Because blogs offer such a tiny glimpse into the big picture of somebody’s life, it’s easy to read them and think, “that person’s got their shit together, why don’t I?” I guess this was just a PSA to let everyone know that sometimes, my shit is all over the place. Also, I know that my posts about fitness/health stuff have been sparse lately, but it’s something I aim to write more about this year since it’s obviously something I think about a lot.

Speaking of fitness, my mom texted me this morning to see if I wanted to run a half marathon with her and my dad in Maui later this year. At first I was like, “hmm, maybe we could swing that” but then I remembered the exposed drywall backsplash our kitchen is currently sporting, as well as the fact that the house needs new paint, a new lawn, and we’re currently in the middle of a plumbing job that is making me seriously consider bathing out back with the garden hose for the rest of my life. I told her maybe. Anybody in the market for a fully functioning* kidney?

Kristen-Wiig-Help-Me-Im-Poor-In-Bridesmaids-Gif

Also, I wanted to let you guys know that there’s an official HeatherHomefaker Facebook page now. Which is probably pointless since the other day I was talking to a teenager who told me nobody uses Facebook anymore except for parents and grandparents. Apparently all her friends just use Snapchat, and as she was telling me this I nodded along like I totally agreed that Facebook was so over and prayed she wouldn’t ask me for my Snapchat user name since I have no idea what the hell a Snapchat even is, or if it requires user names. I mean, I kind of know what it is, but I don’t really get how it’s different than the group message function I currently use when I feel like all my friends need to see a boring picture of my cat for the thousandth time. Basically, I have never felt older than I did at the end of that conversation.

Source

Source
So glad I spent hundreds of dollars on a DSLR “for blog photos” so I can proceed to only post gifs.

ANYWAY, for those of you stuck in 2006 with me, my Facebook link is on the sidebar. Feel free to like my page and spam me with Patrick Dempsey photos and beer recommendations.

*Beer doesn’t damage kidneys, right?

5 thoughts on “I’m on Facebook! Tell Your Grandparents!

  1. Abigail

    a) help me i’m poor is the most important gif of our time

    b) i am exactly the same about snapchat. i have one but only so i can receive snaps from my one friend erik who is god’s gift to the internet (http://instagram.com/erikkksb). i don’t even know how to send anything in it. or get other people in it. and i’m like “uh, i have imessage so i’m good, team.”

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      I got schooled on Snapchat by my coworker’s niece yesterday, and apparently the photos disappear after a few seconds? I already feel enough pressure to check ALL THE THINGS every time I loo at my phone so the added anxiety of having to look at something right away before it disappears makes me feel crazy.

      Reply
      1. Abigail

        Yep. I’m like “but obviously I would want to look at it later again. Plus show five people. Pass.”

  2. edubergeek

    Gee, I suddenly feel young! (Snapchat = Instagram + IM) but your annotated picture disappears once viewed (unless the recipient quickly takes a screenshot of the snapchat app). It was developed by the NSA for politicians and other authorities to use so they can communicate their evil intentions to their mindless minions without worrying about some pesky journalist in the future filing a FOIA request and destroying their careers and thus toppling the delicate balance of power in Washington D.C. Also popular if your name is Weiner or Carlos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

