Things Stressing Me Out Today

1. There is a growing puddle of water on our front lawn. We got some rain last week so at first I figured it was from that, but it’s been getting bigger every day and it’s not raining anymore. Dave thinks there may be a crack in our water main. I do not even want to know how much this will cost to fix, so I’ve been dealing with it the same way I deal with everything house-related:  burying it deep down inside. It’ll probably take 10 years off my life, but at least I don’t cry at work.

Source Me, for the last four days.

Source
Me, every day since we signed the closing papers.

2. My sister is having a baby any day now, and I can’t afford a plane ticket to go meet my new nephew because I’m spending all my money on plumbing. If anyone reading this is thinking about buying a house, take my advice and RENT FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE. Or buy a house without running water, Ingalls family-style.

3. CHEESEPOCALYPSE

My favorite thing to do when I’m stressed is look at adoptable animals on Petfinder. Currently I’m trying to convince Dave that we need this little guy. But then I start to think about dog hair and dog poop and our presently un-chewed furniture and I think maybe we should stick to small animals. Like rabbits! Or a ferret! I have problems.

12 thoughts on “Things Stressing Me Out Today

      1. Colorado Boxer Lover

        I bring mine to work with me! BTW, I think you are hysterical and l love reading your blog every day. If you’re ever in Colorado, let’s have a beer!!

      2. Colorado Boxer Lover

        I am very close to Littleton. On the southern end of Cherry Creek Reservoir, in case you know where that is.

  1. Kim Herberger

    Heather…..you are adorable!!! If you really are thinking about a doggie………pitties are the best!! but, I also have a wonderful teeny doxen friend; 8 yrs old; very well behaved that needs a home. Think about it 🙂 Ms. Kim

    Reply
  2. carlislesyall

    1. I love your blog!
    2. Don’t sweat the water main thing too much yet. It may not be your responsibility to fix, depending on where it is and the cause. It’s happened twice to me (two different houses, what are the odds) but both times the city took care of it… Replacing the grass was on us, but that’s far cheaper so I’ll take it. Call the city (or whoever controls your water) and talk to them about coming to check it out. Good luck!

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      Thanks for the heads up! I was assuming it would be on us to replace it, but I’ll definitely give the city a call tomorrow. The good news is that our lawn was dead when we bought the house and we haven’t replaced it yet, so we won’t be ripping up beautiful grass. Procrastination pays off yet again 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

