High Five for Friday

1. After months of whining, SOMEBODY finally got his damn hot dog cooker. So now this wtfery is happening on our kitchen counter:

Hot Dog Cooker

Direct quote from Dave: “I like how the rotisserie creates a layer of sweat on the outside.”

I hate to admit it, but we cooked angus dogs on this thing last night and they were kind of excellent.

2. I’ve re-discovered my love of Cream of Wheat.

Cream of Wheat

Dave’s mom brought by a bunch of grocery coupons last weekend, and when I saw one for Cream of Wheat I remembered how much I loved that stuff as a kid, and added it to our  shopping list. Turns out it’s as delicious as I remembered, even without the six tablespoons of butter and softball-sized ball of brown sugar I’d top it with when I was younger. (I carefully cut out the coupon and then forgot it on the kitchen table, standard.)

3. HALLELUJAH, HOLY SHIT, THE PIPE IS FIXED.

Pipe
Sure, there’s a big hole in our front yard and our entire driveway/sidewalk is caked in mud, but I can fall asleep without wondering if the crawl space under our house is slowly filling up with water.

4. One of my oldest friends, Joanna, is getting married tomorrow, and I’m so excited to celebrate with her. Fun fact: We met as kids at church, where we sat in the back row together and bonded over our mutual hatred of songs with dumb hand motions. Here we are with some friends on my 16th birthday:

Birthday Trip

She is the cute one on the bottom right. I am the one who looks like she cut her bangs with a Flowbee.

5. My sister is due to deliver her second son any day now! She has cute kids (evidence below), so we’re pretty excited.

Heather and Josh
Although I would like to note that I’m kind of pissed that they didn’t consider my name suggestion of “National,” since their last name is Parks. There’s still time to change your mind, guys.

Have a good weekend!

 photo H54Fbutton-1_zpsa7aaa665.png

11 thoughts on “High Five for Friday

  1. Pamela

    I’m so glad I participated in H54F and found your blog! You are hilarious! I also suffer from bouts of rage. One of my biggest rage inducers lately is people that dont hold the door for me when I am walking behind them and instead just let it slam in my face. Also, another thing that drives me crazy is people that are walking suuuuuuuuuuuper slowly in front of me because they are texting/facebooking. Anyway, have a nice weekend and enjoy your hotdogs. That rotisserie looks amazing!

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      YES to the people walking while texting! I always seem to wind up behind these people in the grocery store and I have to fight the urge to ram them with my cart. And they’re usually the same people in the express line with 500 items.

      Reply
  2. Ellen

    The hot dog cooker made my whole day. Can I come to your garage sale in 6 months and buy it from you for $2 so I can have sweaty hot dogs too? Ewww. That came out wrong.

    Reply
  3. 8littlepaws

    1. Yay For Pipe Repair!

    2.. My Dad Has Cut His Hair WitH A FlowBee For About Two Awkward Decades Now. Lol.

    3. Omg The Hot Dog Cooker.

    Also I Am Setting Up My New computer Tomorrow So No More Commenting From My PhoneWith Insane Capitalizations!

    Reply
      1. 8littlepaws

        I may have some pictures of the flowbee when first obtained, but I’d have to do some research to see if my memory is correct. I remember even in the early 90s we thought he was out of his mind for buying it but it’s still going strong now. Hey….maybe that hot dog roller will still be on your counter in 2033!

Leave a Reply

