What to Wear on Valentine’s Day

So, confession: I kind of love Valentine’s Day. Not in the, “I’ll pout if my boyfriend doesn’t buy me a 10-lb. box of See’s and a diamond necklace” sort of way, but more of an, “I want to send valentines to all my friends and bake heart-shaped cookies and package them up in treat boxes” kind of way.

When it comes to getting dressed on Valentine’s Day, I’m totally drawn to over-the-top, super-cutesy stuff like these and these … which is acceptable when you’re 12, but harder to pull off in your late twenties. Also, Dave would mock me until the end of time if I bought those shoes.

I’ve spent the last couple of evenings looking for Valentines-wear that is festive enough to satisfy my inner 12-year-old, but subtle enough that it can be worn the other 364 days of the year as well. Here are a few of the things I found:

Collage

One | Two | Three | Four | Five | Six | Seven | Eight | Nine

Our Valentine’s day plans are super low-key (dinner at our favorite Indian restaurant followed by a hockey game), so I decided to go the casual route and ordered the J. Crew Factory t-shirt (# 3). I’ll probably wind up wearing it with skinny jeans, heels, and my trusty red H&M cardigan, but I also think it would be cute tucked into a pencil skirt for more casual days at work.

Do you get into Valentine’s Day, or are you one of the many people who are annoyed by dorks like me who love it?

3 thoughts on “What to Wear on Valentine’s Day

  1. 8littlepaws

    i admit, we do absolutely nothing for V-day. Well, this year we’ll probably watch hours of House of Cards. I don’t know what I’ll cook for it yet. I can’t remember what we did last year either!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

