High Five for Friday

1. My nephew Theodore finally decided to make an appearance early Thursday morning, two weeks past his due date. I know I’m biased, but I think he’s pretty damn cute:

Josh has been practicing big brother duties with a Cabbage Patch doll, which melted even my shriveled, blackened ovaries.

Josh meeting his little brother. For the last few weeks he’s been practicing for the arrival of the baby with a Cabbage Patch doll.

This morning I was thinking about how much fun it is to be the cool aunt and have none of the responsibility of being a parent. And then I realized that when Theo is 16, I’ll be 46. FORTY-SIX. Apparently instead of “Cool Aunt Heather” I’ll be “That relative who makes us massage her bunions while she eats Easy Cheese from the can and talks about menopause.”

2. THE OLYMPICS.

olympics

What my evenings will look like for the next two weeks.

Last night I Instagrammed a photo making fun of Bob Costas’ grievous eye injury, and was shocked when I saw that NBC Olympics liked it. This morning I saw that they unliked it. I like to think it was because Costas found out and pitched a squinty-eyed fit.

3. Cauliflower crust pizza.

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

We hadn’t had this in a while, so whipped some up on Wednesday night. IT IS SO GOOD. I use this recipe. Pro tips: Double the garlic, grease the baking sheet/pizza stone reaaaaally well, and let the crust get nice and brown before adding your toppings. (Our toppings included a little cheese, Newman’s Own Sockarooni sauce, veggies, and ground beef leftover from when we made sliders a few days ago.)

4. After seven months(!), I finally got my hair cut yesterday.

Hair

I’m trying to grow it out long again, so it wasn’t anything drastic – I just got my layers freshened up, bangs trimmed, and the dead ends chopped off. Even though I absolutely love getting my hair done, I always put it off for ages until it looks like this and I can’t stand it anymore. Don’t be like me.

5. For the first time in a while, we have nothing scheduled for this weekend. The possibilities are endless — I can’t decide if I want to get started on refinishing the dresser sitting in the garage, start the alcove bar project with Dave, or just sit around in my pajamas waiting for our local Olympics coverage to start. SO MANY CHOICES.

 photo H54Fbutton-1_zpsa7aaa665.png

3 thoughts on “High Five for Friday

Leave a Reply

