Thoughts I’ve Had While Watching the Olympics

– If you can do it while wearing a three piece suit, it’s not a sport (I’m looking at you, ICE DANCING).

– Speaking of ice dancing, stop trying to make “twizzle” happen. It’s not going to happen. (My friend Sarah and I made up an ice dancing drinking game: Dial 9-1-1- and proceed to take a shot every time you hear the word “twizzle.” See if you’re still alive by the time the medics show up.)

– I miss Johnny Weir. Frankly, Jason Brown is the only male skater who has really brought the fab in the costume department so far. In future events, there better be fewer black pantsuits and more Leprechaun Pirate Bullfighters:

– ET airs before primetime Olympics coverage, and I’ve suffered through the end of it several times now. Groundbreaking information I’ve learned so far:  Alec Baldwin’s 18-year-old daughter likes Instagram, one of the Backstreet Boys is getting married, and why Shakira named her new album “Shakira” (spoiler alert: IT’S BECAUSE HER NAME IS SHAKIRA). I have never wanted a DVR more than I do right now.

– Bode Miller is still hot.

I had planned to do some (drunk) live-blogging of the Olympics over the weekend, but obviously that didn’t happen so I’m shooting for this weekend instead. You better hope your pinkeye has cleared up by Saturday, Bob.

11 thoughts on “Thoughts I’ve Had While Watching the Olympics

    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      Ugh, no … thankfully, KOBI 5 Medford is all over Olympics coverage. I go back and forth between wanting satellite and thinking it’s ridiculous to pay $80 a month for real TV when I can’t even keep up with my stories on Netflix.

      Reply
      1. Abigail

        Oh wow, that’s expensive. Our DirecTV is $40 a month!

        DVRs though, I mean, sometimes I think it’s the only thing that matters.

    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      Yeah, apparently NBC requires you to have a cable provider to access their live streaming … so lame! We don’t have cable, so we just use a cheap digital antenna that allows us to view the local NBC channel. We only get the primetime stuff (and an additional 3-hour chunk on weekend afternoons), but that’s probably a good thing because otherwise I’d be calling in sick every damn day.

      Reply
    1. Abigail

      CAMILLE!!!

      Yeah, I actually really like the prime time packaging. There are so many events, that I need someone else to festival it up for me.

      Reply
      1. Abigail

        Like just now someone explained to me the difference between different types of snow/ice on the moguls course and now I’m an expert.

      2. heatherhomefaker Post author

        Yesterday during cross country I learned that a trained athlete can only handle six minutes of anaerobic activity in their max heart rate range, so basically I’m a certified trainer now.

Leave a Reply

