What Kind of a Name is ‘Stove’ Anyway?

It’s been a good two weeks since our last major home expense, so naturally our stove kicked the bucket last night. I’ll spare you the details, mostly because I’m too lazy to type them, but it started last night with me making shrimp scampi for dinner and ended with us eating deli sandwiches from the grocery store. It’s still unclear whether the stove is under warranty – we are hoping it is, since we haven’t even had the damn thing three years yet. However, I feel pretty confident that the universe would not miss this opportunity to mess with us, so I spent a while last night pricing out ranges just in case. Turns out that after repairing our bathroom plumbing, purchasing a door for our wood stove, and fixing a broken water main all in the last month, this is what we can afford:

Source

Source
Stainless steel, bitches!

We should find out today if the stove is still under warranty, but even if it is we’ll likely be stoveless for a few days at least. I’m considering getting a cast iron skillet for the wood stove and pretending to be pioneers (minus the cholera and dysentery and stuff).

Original

Original
Confession: 100% of my pioneer knowledge comes from playing Oregon Trail.

Just kidding, we’ll probably wind up eating Taco Bell for every meal. And then we’ll develop heart disease and rack up huge medical bills and the bank will repossess our house and we’ll live on the street for a while and then die. ALL BECAUSE OF THE STOVE. (Tangent sponsored by Anxiety™)

Thankfully, the Olympics are giving me something to live for. Especially the Costas eye drama. My friend Abigail sent me this link this morning about how NBC called in Matt Lauer for backup and it cheered me right up. It contains gems like, “… Costas’ eyes appear to be going downhill faster than Sage Kotsenburg,” so it’s definitely in your best interest to read it.

Anybody got good stove recommendations?

10 thoughts on “What Kind of a Name is ‘Stove’ Anyway?

  1. Abigail

    Have I told you that I live next door to Taco Bell? Literally.

    Like I can hear the drive through from my house.

    Like people park at Taco Bell when they visit me.

    It’s pretty life changing.

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      What?? I am so jealous. One of my top five life problems is having to plan late-night trips to Taco Bell in that golden time period between “slightly buzzed” and “DUI Probable.”

      Reply
  2. Sandra Lynch

    I had to cook on my wood stove during a two week power outage, soups work well. Used a camping coffee pot. Puts you in touch with your roots. Hope the warrenty works for you. Love you.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Stovegate Update | heatherhomefaker

Leave a Reply

