My New Art Obsession: Ashley Woodson Bailey

We moved into the new house in August, and we have yet to purchase much in the way of wall art. I painted a big mirror and hung it above the couch in the living room, but that’s as far as I’ve gotten. I just can’t seem to find much that I really love. Plus, my art knowledge is pretty much limited to one class in college, and all I remember from that is the word “chiaroscuro” and trying to make friends with the girl who sat next to me because her brother was in a band that I liked.

Note: That didn’t pan out. Probably because I wore the band T-shirt to every class and creepily arranged my notebook so the band sticker was showing at all times.

Garth

It was not unlike this.

ANYWAY, ART. Yesterday I stumbled across a post on Design*Sponge highlighting floral photographer Ashley Woodson Bailey, and I was like YES THIS IS WHAT I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR. Here are a couple of my favorites, but it was really hard to narrow it down because I basically want every single one of them. (You can see them all on her new site):

Aren’t these so cool? I love the scale and the colors and the fact even though they’re flowers, they’re not necessarily girly. Which will be my main argument tonight when I try to convince Dave that we should take out a loan and buy them all right this second.

Do you have any favorite artists? I’d love some more ideas as we continue to figure out what to put on our walls.

12 thoughts on “My New Art Obsession: Ashley Woodson Bailey

  1. TheDavereferencedinHeatherHomefaker

    The full size “Heart of the Andes” by Frederic Edwin Church would be awesome. Where’s that $1,000 I have set aside for art?

    Reply
  2. Lori

    He has beautiful canon Beach photos. He also has LOTS of beautiful barns, and wild birds. I think I want some too!

    Reply
  3. Jamie Gentner

    Speaking of a Stan, maybe you should hit up our favorite Siskiyou County Fair photographer for some fair photos – straight out of a Normal Rockwell painting, you know. 🙂

    Reply
  4. 8littlepaws

    My neighborhood is pretty packed with artists, so pretty much all the art on my walls is from local people. But I really want to pick up the Nixon bowling poster from Big Lebowski.

    Oh, also I have some insane funk/soul record albums that I’m going to have framed and hung. Also some pics I took of Lake Tahoe when I was there for work three years ago.

    You could also check out youshouldbuyart.com and society6.com for neat stuff.

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      The good news is that he loves them too, so now we just have to fight over which one to get first. And I’m sure I will win. (Also, thank you for commenting – I’m totally having a fangirl moment right now!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

