Voodoo Doughnut Beer + FlipBelt Review

If you follow me on Instagram, then you may have seen that we tried a kind of unusual beer on Friday night:

Voodoo Doughnut BeerIt first caught my eye because PINK BOTTLE! but then when I realized it was a collaboration with Voodoo Doughnut, I knew I had to buy it. Verdict: It definitely smelled like a delicious doughnut, but it wasn’t over-the-top sweet – to me, it just tasted like a mild chocolate ale. I couldn’t detect the banana or peanut butter flavor at all, but that’s probably because my 29-year addiction to processed cheese products has ruined my palate.

On Sunday I figured I’d do some running to counteract my beer drinking, so I headed out to the trail around the lake to take my new FlipBelt for a spin. I’m going to share my thoughts with you, mostly so I can say that one of the over 300 posts on this blog has been useful. You’re welcome.

While a couple of things annoyed me, overall I am a huge fan. Let’s start with how it works: Basically, it’s a stretchy tube with several openings around it that allow you to slide items into the tube. You then flip the belt over so the openings are flush against your body, keeping all your items secure:

FlipBelt 1

Like this.

I took my phone, chapstick, house key, and energy chews, and it all fit easily. However – I would suggest sizing up if you would prefer the belt to sit on your hips as opposed to your waist. I had planned to wear mine down lower, but after about a half mile of having to tug it down every few steps, I just gave up and let it sit up around my natural waist where it wanted to be. It actually didn’t bug me as much as I thought it would, since it wasn’t too tight and didn’t bounce around at all, but if I had to go back I’d definitely size up.

I was also impressed that I was able to fit all that crap into the belt and it didn’t look like I had a massive spare tire under my shirt:

FlipBelt 2

Pro tip: Take blog pictures BEFORE your run to avoid pit stains.

Verdict?

Question of the day: What’s the weirdest beer you have tried? Aside from the Voodoo concoction up there, mine would probably be banana bread beer. (Which Dave and I both really liked. Maybe we both have messed up taste buds.)

5 thoughts on “Voodoo Doughnut Beer + FlipBelt Review

  1. Shauna

    Mmmmmm…doughnuts. Flip belt what? I think I need this beer in my life. Like immediately. Weirdest beer I’ve ever had is probably pumpkin ale. Tasted like vomit. Not a fan of the blueberry wheat ales either. But momma likes her cider beers in apple and pear.

    Reply
  2. 8littlepaws

    I Haven’t Had Beer In A Few years, But I Used To Really Like Sour Beers. Goose Island Makes Great Ones But Not Sure If You Can Get Them In Cali. Phone Is Being Weird With The Caps Again, It Hates The WordPress App!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

