How To Clean Dark Floors

Clean Dark Floors

I get lots of questions, both in comments and emails, about whether we like our dark floors and how we keep them clean. I figured since so many people are curious, I’d go ahead and just write a post about it.

First of all, know that I hate cleaning. Hate. It. But I also hate having a messy house. And since dark floors show more dirt, for the first few months after we moved in I was CONSTANTLY sweeping and Swiffering and kind of wishing we had just covered all the floors in dirt-colored carpet. Related: If you are one of those people who walk over doormats without wiping your feet, I silently hate you.

Source   If you've ever walked into my house without wiping your feet.

Source    Every time somebody tracks mud into the house.

So here’s the skinny: Our flooring is Allen + Roth Burnished Cafe Maple. So far, it’s been very scratch-resistant, although we are always super careful when moving furniture, etc. I love, love, love the color, and feel like it really made the house look a lot nicer/bigger. Here are a few shots from right after we installed the floors before moving in last summer:

08-21-13-hallway-before-and-after 08-21-13-living-room-before-and-after

And here’s the living room as of yesterday afternoon.

Burnished Cafe Maple FloorsAfter moving in, it became clear that sweeping + Swiffering wasn’t going to cut it. Our cat leaves a ton of hair everywhere, and when sweeping it into the dustpan about half of it floats back out and lands back on the clean floors. It wasn’t that noticeable until we’d Swiffer, and wind up with a bunch of sticky little cat hair clumps. Meanwhile, the cat would be on the couch, like:

Junk Food Cat

Clean my filth, bitchez.

Basically, every time we cleaned the floors we felt like the idiots at the beginning of infomercials who can’t pour a glass of milk without burning their house down.

Source   There's got to be a better way!

Source    There’s got to be a better way!

You guys, there is totally a better way. And it only involves two steps. You’ll need The Shark Rocket and The Swiffer Wet Jet.

Step 1: Go over the floors using the Shark’s Dust-Away attachment and included pad. This will replace sweeping – it sucks up every last bit of dust/hair, and it takes only a fraction of the time since you don’t need to stop and empty the dirt into a dustpan. Once you’re done, just empty the dust trap into the trash and throw the re-usable pad into the washing machine. (It also comes with a vacuum attachment that works great on carpet!)

Step 2: Now that all the dust/hair/debris is gone, use the Swiffer Wet Jet to add polish and shine and to get rid of any stubborn dirt or footprints.

THAT’S IT. It takes me about 15 minutes to do our whole house (our house is small, but still). I normally do both steps on the weekend, and then mid-week I’ll just run the Shark over high-traffic areas, such as the kitchen and living room. I used to spend about half an hour 2-3 times a week trying to keep our floors clean, and this takes like a third of the time and lasts so much longer. Which means I have more time to do what I really love in life.

Do you have any favorite floor cleaning products? Let me know in the comments!

 

6 thoughts on “How To Clean Dark Floors

  1. average jayne

    I love my Swiffer Wet Jet. Usually just sweep up myself before using it; I will have to test out the Shark. I’ve got carpet in my bedroom and office, otherwise I would just buy one of those robot things and let him have at it all day long.

    Reply
  2. 8littlepaws

    so I have dark hardwood in my place and the same problems. What’s the deal with the Shark vac–battery powered? How long does it last? I have a roomba that I run a decent amount but it doesnt get everything and it gets stuck in places a LOT. I also have a dirt devil with a god-awful battery.

    Reply
    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      Our Shark actually plugs in like a vacuum. I seriously can’t tell you how much we love it – it has a little nozzle attachment too so it can get into lite corners and crevices.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

