What I’m Eating

I’m doing something a little bit different today, and sharing a day of eating with you guys. I have this weird obsession with food blogs where people just document what they eat every day. And if you’re thinking that that sounds boring as shit, you’re right, but it does help me come up with new meal ideas. Also, I’m just kind of a creeper in general and like to see the inner workings of people’s lives. For example, I like to go for walks when it’s starting to get dark so I can look inside people’s windows and see how they’ve decorated. It’s pretty fun, except for when they happen to walk past the window and see me standing there all:

tumblr_lkcmwfYKZ51qixleeo1_500

Anyway, I recently noticed that my pants are fitting just a liiittle bit tighter, probably because of my birthday earlier this month and going on vacation the week after that, and generally just existing off of cake, home brewed beer, and the occasional salad. When that happens I try not to freak out, and just be a little better about counting calories (I use MyFitnessPal) for a few weeks until taking my skinny jeans off doesn’t look like this:

Always_Sunny_GIFs_1

I haven’t been running much lately, so I’ve been trying to keep my carbs at around 30% of my daily total calories. Not because I think carbs are bad, but because I don’t need as many when I’m not running long distances four days a week.

So here’s what yesterday looked like for me. I generally net around 1,400 calories per day (I eat back any calories from exercise, meaning that most days I’m actually eating 1,500-1,800 depending on what I do at the gym):

Breakfast

Breakfast

Right now, my favorite breakfast is two fried eggs. It’s fast, easy, and unlike cereal/oatmeal, it keeps me full until lunch. I also can’t function without my morning cup of coffee, into which I measure a tablespoon of Hazelnut creamer because there are some things I will never ever give up even though they’re full of hydrogenated oil and chemicals that will probably give me cancer.

Lunch

Chickpea burger wrap

For lunch I had a Morningstar Mediterranean Chickpea Burger lettuce wrap with 1/2 an avocado and a little bit of salsa, plus cottage cheese + tomatoes on the side. I eat a chickpea or black bean burger pretty much every day for lunch, either in a wrap, on a bed of greens, or inside a sandwich thin. Except on Wednesdays, when Dave and I walk to the deli up the street and I eat a turkey sandwich on a French roll as big as my head.

Snack

Yesterday it was a bunch of smoked almonds, which I did not photograph because I would have had to momentarily stop shoveling them into my mouth. Peach season is in full swing, so I’ve been getting them from the farmers’ market and having those for snacks as well. I also eat light Babybels like my life depends on it.

Dinner

Dinner

This is one of my favorite dinners ever – Barbecue Chicken Quinoa Bowls. Just cook up a batch of quinoa and top with grilled chicken, avocado, cilantro, black beans, veggies (last night I used onion, orange bell pepper, and halved grape tomatoes), and a little bit of barbecue sauce. Crushed tortillas/cheese are also awesome on top. I like to season my quinoa with cumin and a little bit of garlic salt before throwing on the toppings.

Dessert

Dessert

Skinny Cow Chocolate Mousse Ganache Cones are my everything, and I’ve started eating one pretty much any night when I have enough calories left over after dinner. Are they healthy? Uh, no. But they do contain about half the calories of a Nestle Drumstick and taste every bit as delicious, so there’s that. I’ve tried really hard to cut artificial sweeteners from my diet, but these cones and my morning creamer are probably going to stick around. Moderation, right?

What I’m working on:

– Limiting drinking to two nights per week. It’s just so hard when I know there’s delicious home brew in the fridge. Also, I’m super introverted/have serious social anxiety, so whenever I’m at an event and there’s booze it’s hard to say no to at least one drink to calm my paralyzing fear of awkward small talk.

tumblr_lzkhzyNuVn1qzqdem

So that’s it … do you ever read “what-I-ate” style blogs? Please tell me I’m not the only one who likes to read this shit occasionally.

 

3 thoughts on “What I’m Eating

  1. average jayne

    I can’t believe that I never thought of wrapping a veggie burger in a lettuce leaf before. I am obviously not reading enough food diaries.

    Reply
  2. SMcMullin

    I was hoping for pictures of you actually shoveling a giant french roll into your french roll hole. And I drink diet colas like I own stock in faux sugar and cancer treatment centers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

