Plumora: Connect On Your Terms

I mentioned a few days ago that I’ve been working with a wearables company that’s developing a smart bracelet for women. Today is a very exciting day for us, and I figured it would be the perfect time to explain how and why I got involved.

Back in 2006 when I was a senior in college (SIDE NOTE: OH MY GOD, I’M OLD), I wrote a blog chronicling my life. And by “my life,” I mean all the really dumb stuff that my friends and I did, like getting bored in World Market and using wooden cork guns to re-enact a certain former vice president shooting his hunting buddy in the ass. Anyway. Despite my clearly questionable grasp on what constitutes quality blog content, an Australian blogger named Aakanksha started commenting on my posts. I started reading her blog, and then we started emailing each other, and before I knew it I had made my first blogging friend.

Fast forward eight years to last February: I got an email from Aakanksha informing me that she had founded a wearables company in Melbourne. (Seriously, how bad ass is that?) Her team was designing a smart bracelet for women that would alert them to smart phone notifications. Only unlike other wearables on the market, this bracelet would be a beautiful piece of jewelry, something that women could wear into the board room, or to a wedding, or to brunch with friends without looking like they were wearing a gadget on their wrist. Something delicate, made out of beautiful gold instead of clunky rubber or plastic.

Plumora Bracelet

The idea really resonated with me, as I HATE feeling like I’m constantly tied to my phone. Yet on the other hand, I also hate missing important calls, texts, and notifications because my phone is stashed in my purse or I’m stuck in a meeting. I also loved the idea that we would be doing more than creating a beautiful wearable device – we were allowing busy women in all walks of life the opportunity to break free from their phones. To stop stressing about missing important calls from loved ones, and spend more time engaging in the world around them without distraction.

I joined the team as a digital marketing advisor, and the last eight months have been a fantastic whirlwind of designing and building and branding and planning. I’m so proud to announce that this morning we officially launched our website at www.Plumora.com. If you have a second, I’d love for you to check it out. And if you like the idea, consider following us on Facebook and/or Twitter.

Plumora BraceletThis project is very dear to me, and I’ll likely check in every once in a while with updates as we prepare to launch our crowdfunding campaign. I’d love to hear your thoughts, and I appreciate your support!

7 thoughts on “Plumora: Connect On Your Terms

    1. heatherhomefaker Post author

      I’m so glad you like it! Right now we are working on coming up with some special pricing options to be offered during our crowdfunding campaign. I’ll announce here once that goes live, and if you’d like you can also sign up for our email list on the bottom of the homepage of our website – our subscribers will be the first to hear about our special pricing offers.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Plumora On Indiegogo | heatherhomefaker

Leave a Reply

