It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

So I blogged exactly three times during NaBloPoMo. That’s a pretty spectacular fail, even for me.

At least I tried, I guess?

At least I tried?

What was I doing all month instead of blogging? Working, mostly. My new job is amazing, if not a little bit intimidating (like all new jobs tend to be, really). I was also putting up a crapton of Christmas decorations, much to the chagrin of Dave, who will most likely bury my debit card like a dog in the back yard if I bring home another lighted garland. But in my defense, look how pretty!

Garland

Yes, that’s exposed drywall behind the sink. Yes, our beautiful glass mosaic backsplash tiles have been in the garage waiting to be installed for over two months. Yes, I know that I’m the worst.

Do you know who DOES appreciate my Christmas decoration addiction? Whiskers. Every night when I get home from work he sits under the tree and stares at me with his beady little cat eyes until I turn on the tree lights.

Whiskers tree

So noble, for a creature that spends half his life licking his own butthole.

And then I spend the rest of the night yelling at him for trying to chew the sequins off of my tree skirt. If you visit our house between now and Dec. 25, prepare to hear a lot of early 90s Amy Grant Christmas music interspersed with the occasional, “KNOCK IT OFF OR I’LL KILL YOU” aimed at the cat. It’s super magical.

And speaking of early 90s Amy Grant Christmas music, I’m working on a Top 10 list of my favorite Christmas albums ever. With any luck, I’ll actually get it written before next Christmas rolls around.

 

3 thoughts on “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

Leave a Reply

