Chop Chop

A while back I got the urge to chop my long hair off, but at the same time I was afraid of the dreaded fat-face that short hair tends to bring out if you have full cheeks. Or, as I like to call it, the Bridget Jones effect:

Bridget Jones

Don’t get me wrong – I love me some Bridg – but girlfriend could have benefited from some long layers.

I was all ready to chicken out like I always do when I get the urge to cut my hair, but then I saw this cut on Pinterest:

Inverted lob

Help! I can’t find a source.

It was kind of perfect: short in the back to cut down blow drying time, long in the front to keep me from looking like I’m squirreling nuts away for the winter in my cheeks, and not so extreme that it could be mistaken for the “can I speak to a manager cut.” (<— So true, yes?) After much hemming and hawing and incessant badgering of my friends and family members, I decided to go for it. Here are the before/afters:

Screen Shot 2015-01-15 at 6.04.51 PM Screen Shot 2015-01-15 at 6.11.14 PMLately I’ve been using a 1.5″ curling iron to add a little wave, like so:

Short_wavy

Hair_Back_View

Clearly I’ve made major headway on my new year’s resolution to improve my photography skills.

So here’s the conundrum: I have a hair appointment next week, and I’m waffling between trying to grow it out again and keeping my current cut.  (I know, my brain is clearly full of deep thoughts if this is what’s keeping me up at night.) While I love my new, shorter hair, I also miss doing this:

Lucy Liu

Help! What should I do?

6 thoughts on “Chop Chop

  1. thedavereferencedinheatherhomefaker

    I like it long, but you look freakin gorgeous in all of these photos, so YOLOBMAUE (You only live once but maybe alternate universes exist).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

