Oh Hey There

Things I did last week instead of blogging:

Worked, a lot.

Last week was a big one for my staff. We hosted our first event, participated in a two-day technical training for our grant project, and I started writing my very first grant application(!). I was kind of nervous when I woke up on Monday morning, but everything went perfectly. Someday I will learn that worrying is a big fat waste of my time. Just kidding, I totally won’t.

Scored this kickass mid-century sideboard.

Sideboard

A couple in my town started up an online auction last year, and mostly I just look at it and laugh at all the crap people are trying to get actual money for. Thirty dusty seed packets from 1992. A cast iron pot missing its lid. A pile of filthy boards titled, “Rustic Barrel Project: You Assemble.” But every once in a while I come across something awesome, like that sideboard up there, for which I paid a grand total of $43. The auctioneer says it’s from the ’40s, and it still has the original tags on the inside of the top drawer. Now comes the fun part: styling it. I’m thinking a cool lamp (like this or this), some pretty framed prints (I love this), and a few decorative accents will  make all the difference. (If you listen really hard, you will probably be able to hear Dave’s eyes rolling in their sockets the second he reads the phrase “decorative accents.”) I was thinking about painting it like this, but it’s so pretty as-is that I think I’ll leave it alone for now.

Reading.

Confession: I’m kind of a book snob. If you tell me you like, say, Nicholas Sparks, I will not necessarily write you off as a terrible person, but I will definitely question your judgment.

Nicholas Sparks

I’ve always kind of lumped Stephen King into the “overrated” category, probably because of his mass appeal, but I picked up “The Stand” a few weeks ago and SOMEBODY SEND HELP BECAUSE I CAN’T PUT IT DOWN. It’s so good, and now I’m totally kicking myself for waiting 30 years to pick up a Stephen King book. I only have a few chapters left, so I’m trying to line up what to read next – please let me know if you have suggestions. (Unless you’re a Nicholas Sparks fan.)

Shopping.

I was perusing the Anthropologie sales section this week and discovered this dress, which I obviously need to own because polka dots:

Maeve Orange Dot Dress

Only I went to order it, and they didn’t have any left in my size. After some sleuthing I was able to find it in my size on eBay for only slightly more than the sale price on Anthro’s site. Between this dress and the sideboard, I’d say last week was one of the better shopping weeks of my life.

I was going to wrap this post up with an eloquent ending, but Dave just turned on a Lifetime movie about stalking, and I’m powerless before terrible actors pretending to commit crimes. Happy Tuesday!

4 thoughts on “Oh Hey There

  1. Joy V.

    The first Stephen King book I read was Under the Dome and I loved it. Another one that is in the same realm as The Stand that I would give 5 stars to is Swan Song by Robert McCammon. My FIL always talked about it and when I finally tried it, I loved it. It looks kooky, but it’s not. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

