Sparkling White Sangria Recipe + Deck Progress

I have a really good sangria recipe to tell you about, but first, an important announcement: WE HAVE DECK FURNITURE!

IMG_4979

We technically had deck furniture before, but it was plastic and old and every time we got a strong breeze the chairs would end up scattered all over the yard and then they’d stay there for weeks because we’re too lazy to go pick them up and I’ve watched enough reality TV to know that that a yard full of broken, plastic lawn furniture is the first step toward an appearance on “Hoarders.” So when my parents offered to give us their deck furniture when they moved to Hawaii, we were super excited to take it off their hands. In addition to being sturdy and wind-resistant, it also has an umbrella so I don’t have to reapply my SPF 110 three times during dinner. #melaninproblems

(BTW, SPF 110 is a real thing, and it is awesome.)

We don’t have a truck, so the furniture has spent the last two months at my aunt and uncles’ house. However, my mom was visiting last week, so she, my brother, and my grandma loaded it up and brought it up to us on Sunday. We thanked them by feeding them barbecue and this delicious sangria:

Sangria

The bad news: This is the only picture I took, because I was so busy hosting my guests refilling my glass. The good news: I wrote down the recipe before imbibing, so now I can give it to you:

Sparkling White Sangria
1 bottle sweet white wine (I used moscato, but a riesling would be good too!)
1 bottle Champagne or sparkling white wine, chilled (I used sparkling moscato, which made it extra sweet!)
1 cup strawberries, sliced
1 lemon, sliced
1 lime, sliced
1 orange, sliced
Handful of blackberries

Combine the wine and fruit at least 4 hours and as many as 24 hours before serving, and chill. Just before serving, add the sparkling white wine or Champagne and mix well. If you want, spoon out some of the fruit from inside the container and place in the glasses before filling. Pretty! Delicious! Makes you feel like Olivia Pope!

Olivia Pope wine

P.S. – If you make it with both regular and sparkling moscato like I did, it’ll probably be sweet enough without adding any sugar. If you use a less sweet wine, give it a taste before serving to see if you need to add sweetener (I’d suggest honey, agave, or raw sugar).

Leave a Reply

