My first low carb day, aka I would commit murder for a bite of French bread

I mentioned in my last post that I’d be eating low-carb on my rest days during my cut, and Friday was my first low carb day of the week. Here’s how it went:

8 a.m.
Bacon, eggs, avocado, veggies. Yay bacon!

10 a.m.
I ate so much fat for breakfast I’m not even hungry for my snack!

Noon
I’m STILL not hungry, but I guess I’ll try and force my delicious salad down!

2 p.m.
I feel great! Why do people even complain about eating low carb?

4 p.m.:

tenor

My coach, who recently did a pretty intense cut, warned me to save my carbs for the end of the day and I’m SO GLAD SHE DID. My end-of-the-day carb treat was one of the delicious peaches I brought home from the farmer’s market this week. I ate it while watching an outdoor concert, and the sounds I made while eating it made the people around me really uncomfortable.

 

giphy2

Actual footage of me in my post-peach afterglow

My coach also warned me that I’d be super hungry the next day, which turned out to be absolutely true. It probably didn’t help that I did two workouts on Saturday,then went to a local coffee shop where they kept talking about all the delicious baked goods they’re going to be offering next week. I was like SOUNDS GOOD GUYS, LET ME KNOW HOW THEY TASTE, and cried into my cold brew.

Anyway, at the end of week one I’m only down 1.5 lbs, but more importantly I’m feeling awesome during my workouts and PRd both my back squat and split jerk last week, at 200 lbs and 145 lbs, respectively. I took some before photos on Sunday, which was a REAL TREAT. You know the Friends episode where Monica and Chandler are trying to take engagement photos and Chandler has the worst photo smile in the world?

tumblr_m7osm25fpc1qigluvo3_r2_500

It’s a lot like that, but instead of an awful smile I look I like someone just punched me in the stomach and then told me Forensic Files was removed from Netflix FOREVER. #restingbitchfacealways

For this week’s meal prep, I baked a big pan of chicken, bell peppers and onions (I used this recipe).

Fajitas.jpg

I also threw  pork loin in the crock pot with 1/4 cup of water and let it cook for about 6 hours. YOU GUYS. I could have eaten the entire pile in one sitting:

Pork.jpgI can’t reiterate enough how stupid easy this week’s prep was. Between cutting the veggies and then putting it all into containers once it had cooled, it was about 15 minutes of actual work. And with that 15 minutes of prep work I’ll be able to build healthy meals all week: chicken tacos, chicken salads, pork with rice and veggies, pork tacos, pork salads, pork/egg/veggie scrambles I’M PRETTY SURE YOU GET THE IDEA.

Do you meal prep? If you do, tell me what you made this week …

One thought on “My first low carb day, aka I would commit murder for a bite of French bread

Leave a Reply

